Sedate Sunday

littletonThis morning the world is covered with glittering snow.  On a very cold morning.  Yesterday it was 60 degrees, I took a long walk around a nearby town, with a thriving downtown that is actually quaint and nice without being sickeningly contrived.  I walked up the stairs to the City Hall, and took the photo from there.

The only plan I have today is to watch the Broncos and knit.  I pulled nearly every book off my shelves this morning to donate to the hospital for a fundraiser.  I am not sure this is the best idea I have ever had, but I need my life downsized and all those books are heavy and take a lot of space. I have kept all of my AA, spiritual, religious books, and books about icons and making them.  I guess this will further seal my reputation as a religious fanatic, as my house is full of icons and all these books!

The regular books I can’t get rid of?  Lonesome Dove – maybe my all time favorite book, The Brothers Karamazov, Infinite Jest, Atlas Shrugged, anything by C.S. Lewis, and JRR Tolkein.  I’ve just noticed there are more, scattered all over the house.  I wonder if I will chicken out of giving them away.  If you could only have a couple of books (other than spiritual books), which would you keep?

I’ll give you a report on my new knitting needles later.  My son gave me a gift certificate for the yarn store.  I splurged on a set of Knitter’s Pride Cubics – interchangable circular needles, in symphony rose, and they are square!  I have never used square needles, but they are supposed to be more ergonomic for arthritic hands (which unfortunately I have).   As I look at this paragraph, I realize that if you aren’t a knitter you would wonder how circular needles can be square.  They are little square needles, which attach to both ends of a cable, enabling one to knit in the round.  Such as the hat I am making for MYSELF!  Yes, ME!  I don’t believe I have knit anything for myself in well over a year.  I loved the hats I knit for my son and grandson so much, I am making one for ME!

OK, now I am junk blogging.  That’s what’s going on today.  Not much.  And I couldn’t be more grateful for that!

This entry was posted in Junk-blogging, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sedate Sunday

  1. Kelly says:

    If I were to only keep *some* books, I would keep my favorites. I would give away those that I never liked or never finished. Or the cookbooks that I’ve been given that I never used.

    What kind of hat are you knitting for yourself? What color?

  2. Hope says:

    I have given away hundreds of books in the past few years and haven’t missed them one bit which surprised me. I do have mostly spiritual books and only keep the ones I will read again. The one book I would be loathe to get rid of is a work of fiction called City of Joy. I bought it at a used book store and read it to my kids.

    What a nice gift your son gave you! And cool about the new knitting needles. I am busy crocheting baby blankets for nieces and nephews having babies.

  3. Annette says:

    Giving away books is so hard, but I too need to do a major purging. I am looking forward to hearing how the square needles work out.

  4. Syd says:

    We have a library room in this house filled with books and books are also located elsewhere throughout. I don’t want to give them away now. Perhaps in many years, it will be time. But books and art are two things that I think define a home for me.

Leave a Reply

