The Last Friday of 2013

IMG_7199

This is the City and  County of Denver building, all lit up for Christmas.  Obviously, it was a drive-by photo, and not a good one.

I am hoping to find time over the weekend to write up a plan and goals for 2014.  I also hope to write down what I want for the rest of my life.  Now that the crisis is over with that horrible job situation, I feel like I am working happily, but drifting sort of aimlessly toward retirement.  I was even ambivalent about retiring at all, but I think I have changed my mind. I want to retire at 65, and that is only 3 years away.

I want to sell my house and move into a condo.  I no longer enjoy homeowner tasks such as shoveling snow, pulling weeds, and mowing the lawn.  More importantly, I no longer enjoy wondering how long the furnace is going to last, and how much longer I can squeeze by without painting the outside of my house.

I am very goal oriented.  If I don’t have a goal on the horizon, I feel like I am just wandering.  For many years, I had the goals of getting through school.  Then I began my adult-onset athlete activities.  I always had a race I was training for.  I am likely to register for an August triathlon as soon as registration is open.  I think my days of long distance running or even walking are over.  I know I can still run 3 miles – even after swimming a half mile and biking 12 miles.  I never thought I would do a sprint distance again, but I would be happy to at this point.

I think I may be drifting into morbid reflection.  I am happy that this is a new day, and I have a job I love to go to.  I am ecstatic that I have a weekend ahead.  And thank God there is a new year, all fresh and new, on the horizon.

This entry was posted in Progress, Race, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Last Friday of 2013

  1. Kelly says:

    Wow! Fancy! It reminds me of pictures I’ve seen of Vegas! 🙂

    I hope you are able to set some goals that help you feel anchored. I hope that you are able to do what you please (be it selling your house or registering for a triathlon, etc) so that you feel happy and satisfied and content.

  2. Annette says:

    Ugh goals….they always overwhelm me! I think if I’m setting them then let’s include everything! I need to learn how to set reasonable goals.
    I hope your goals inspire you and you give you something to aim for.

    • It helped me to learn there are different kinds of goals. Short term and long term. Easily attainable and “stretch” goals. When I first dreamed of attending the university I later graduated from, it was so far from reality to be almost a fantasy, but I kept working toward it and it happened. Same thing with the marathons.

      What I won’t write is “lose weight,” “get in shape,” “get out of debt.” I might write “eat more mindfully,” “register for a triathlon and train for it,” “work towards reducing debt by not using credit cards.”

  3. Syd says:

    I hope that it all works out that you find the type of place where you want to live and the type of activities that you enjoy. It seems you have a lot of the latter now. I know that all will be okay.

Leave a Reply

