December 26

IMG_7260

I made a tiny apple pie yesterday for me and my daughter.  We had a lovely, but very low-key Christmas.  She is but a shadow of herself right now.  But she enjoyed our little Christmas.

I actually knitted a moebius scarf for her in just over 24 hours.  Got up at 4 a.m. yesterday to get it done before 10.  And she loves it.

After our early dinner, I did something I have never done with another in the house, I fell asleep on the couch.  I woke at one point and aplogized, she said she was fine with me sleeping, she was just texting her friends and was perfectly happy.  Her friend picked her up at 4:30, and then I fell back to sleep.  Until 7:30, when I got up and went to bed and went straight to sleep.  I slept until 6 this morning!  I was feeling so tired for the last couple of weeks, I hope that is the end of that!

Today is the 102nd anniversary of my father’s birth.  He’s been dead for 20.  I feel sad that he is now of a different era.  Totally, 100% different.  Born in 1911.  He graduated from Carnegie Tech (now known as Carnegie Mellon University) in 1933.   He used a slide rule for calculations.  One of which has been passed down to my son.  He came to AA when it was new enough that he met Bill Wilson several times.  He remains one of my greatest teachers, sadly mostly in a negative way, as he stayed sober for ten years, got drunk, and lived the last 17 years of his life in a drunken haze.  He never could get sober again, and it just got worse year after year.  ugh.

I am grateful for my life.  And my experiences.  And looking forward to a new year, God willing.

 

This entry was posted in Family, History. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to December 26

  1. Syd says:

    Sounds as if you had the kind of Christmas we had–quiet, low key with some napping. It was so good to not have any pressure. Happy Boxing Day.

  2. Kelly says:

    Ah- the infamous Christmas nap. I’m very familiar with those 🙂 It sounds like you had a quiet, simple, pleasant Christmas. I think those are the best- better than shuttling around to different houses trying to share oneself with multiple people. Wow, 102. I don’t know what else to say- that number is stunning. I hope you have some good memories of your dad tucked away, despite his alcoholism and how it affected the last years of his life.

  3. Annette says:

    You were tired. Its ok to sleep when you are tired. I am glad Christmas was peaceful for you and your daughter.
    Personally, I am glad its over! lol Until next year!

Leave a Reply

