More knitting… Tomorrow’s Christmas

IMG_7235

 

This little dog is going away today.  I will miss him terribly, but I will not miss his habit of going to the bathroom in the house.  I would keep him if not for that.  This is going to be sad for me.

I guess I should warn you, this post is likely to be weird.  Since yesterday I have had terrible vertigo.  Last night the room was spinning and I couldn’t read because the letters were worming around.  I honestly think it might be from endless knitting, nose down, intense concentration, for hours and hours and hours.   It is quite unpleasant.

The hat didn’t get completed in time yesterday.  I will have it done when they get back from the Christmas trip to her parents’.  The minute they walked out the door last night, I started the infinity scarf for the daughter I am spending Christmas with.  I may even be able to knit for an hour or so before work today – if I stop goofing around with this blog!

But I have to tell you… yesterday I was showing my knitting to one of my favorite docs.  Then she told me about the blanket I made for her now 5 year old daughter.  I asked her how it had held up – and she said it is still beautiful.  Now that her daughter is 5, she lovingly covers her baby dolls with it and tells them the blanket was knit by Mary.  Even though she never met me!  Now that made all those stitches seem worthwhile.  I love to knit and I give 99% of the stuff I knit away, it is nice to hear every now and then that the recipient enjoyed the gift and that the stuff is lasting!

Have a Merry Christmas Eve.  I am working this day for the first time in my life.  But I had an employee who so humbly asked for the day off, I was willing to work so she could take it off.  And that could never be a bad thing.

 

This entry was posted in Dog, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More knitting… Tomorrow’s Christmas

  1. Hope says:

    Merry Christmas Mary! I have been busy crocheting baby blankets. I hope your vertigo goes away quickly. It is such a weird and disconcerting feeling.

  2. jackie says:

    Merry Christmas Mary! Thank you for continuing your blog! It is my morning read, after all.

  3. Annette says:

    Merry Christmas Mary. I love that the little 5 year old cherishes the blanket that you made for her. I hope your holiday is filled with beauty my friend.

  4. Nancy G says:

    Merry Christmas, Mary! Thanks for staying in the blogging world. Your willingness to share your ups and downs are an encouragement to us all.

  5. Syd says:

    I hope that you have a quiet day at work and that you enjoy Christmas Eve night. That little dog is really cute. Merry Christmas, MC.

  6. Kelly says:

    I hope the vertigo has passed! Merry Christmas eve, Mary. I hope you have a wonderful day.

  7. atomic momma says:

    You are a blessing to your coworker to work so she can have the time off.

    Merry Christmas Mary and I hope you feel better. No doubt the vertigo is somewhat from the stress of everything right now. Maybe you can relax once you get home. That is a precious picture of your family’s dog.

  8. Mj kelly says:

    Have a wonderful Christmas, Mary..Blessings to you and your family..

  9. sue tegland says:

    A happy and healthy Christmas to you!

  10. Nuala Colman says:

    Thanks for your blog. I have such a lot in common with you I love reading it. Hope you enjoy the Christmas break.

Leave a Reply

