Sixty-Two Years!

IMG_5673It’s my birthday.  This morning as I awoke, I thanked God for keeping me alive for 62 years.  By many definitions, today I become a “senior.”  Oh, maybe if you didn’t have my history you would think that’s a bad thing.  But with my life story, hitting 62 is a miracle.

I was talking with my friend about huffing yesterday.  She was incredulous that I ever did such a thing.  Oh, yes, I did it and I did it for a long time.  At 14, I started drinking.  I also took every drug I could get my hands on from the ages of 16 to 18.  At 18 I quit using drugs and started drinking seriously.  When I turned 21, I started drinking daily.  I only stopped for my 2 pregnancies.  In those days, we all drove when drunk.  I never even thought about it until after I got sober, at the age of 32.  Oh and lets not forget that I smoked 2 packs a day for 25 years.  I stopped that when I was 39 years old and 7 years sober.

So, off I am to an AA meeting this morning.  I’ll get home and get ready to go to see a matinee presentation of Handel’s Messiah at the Colorado Symphony with my daughters.  This was their gift for me.  Probably the best gift ever!

So grateful to a loving God for what I would have to say has been a very good life – despite my best efforts to destroy it.

 

 

This entry was posted in Aging, Family, History, Sobriety. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sixty-Two Years!

  1. Kelly says:

    Happy, happy birthday! I hope today is wonderful and I hope that this year of your life is good to you, too!

  2. Connie says:

    Happy Birthday Mary. Enjoy your special day.

  3. Annette says:

    Oh Mary! Happy birthday! I wish I had known! I hope your day with your girls is wonderful!

  4. daisyanon says:

    Happy Birthday Mary.

  5. atomicmomma says:

    Happy Birthday! Love and wishes to you and hope you have a blessed day to celebrate it.

  6. Nancy G says:

    Happy Birthday Mary! Thanks again for sharing our life with us, Nancy from CA

  7. Hope says:

    Happy Birthday, Mary!! I hope you have a lovely day!

  8. T. D. Davis says:

    Happy Birthday! Every day above ground is a good day!

  9. Tami M says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m grateful you made it to 62 but selfishly … I love love love your writing! You are a blessing to many 🙂

  10. Mj kelly says:

    Hope you are having a wonderful birthday …best wishes to you !

  11. kedzierose says:

    happy birthday to you! thank you for blogging. i have been reading for over two years and too shy to leave a peep but a birthday seems like a good time. i hope you have a wonderful year, best wishes to you!

  12. Kathy says:

    Happy Birthday Mary ! Hope your year ahead is full of many more blessings and that you keep sharing them with us!

  13. Mary LA says:

    Happy birthday Mary Christine and I hope 2014 will be a wonderful year for you.

  14. Thank you very much everyone.

  15. Chenai says:

    Happy birthday Mary that’s wonderful you are now 62. I hope this year is everything you wish for and more!

  16. Syd says:

    MC, I’m sorry that I missed your birthday. But it seems that it was a good one! Lots of gratitude that you are still around. So many of the old bloggers aren’t here anymore. I am fading with keeping up these days because of staying so busy. Lots of elf things to do for the community!

Leave a Reply

