December 9

IMG_7159Yesterday morning as I was driving to the meeting, I had to pull over and take a photo of this sky.  So beautiful.  Of course, I can’t help but remember how beautiful this place was before the houses from the Low 3 Millions!  And the park on top of the hill.  When it was a two lane road out in the middle of nowhere, before some genius linked it up to the interstate highway.  Anyway… someone somewhere laments that my house in my neighborhood was built, and I don’t blame them.

I had the two little ones on Saturday.  I was terrified since that little baby boy seems to have come to associate me, his nana, with the horrible illness he had a month ago while in my care.  So, the last 3 or 4 times I had seen him, he screamed whenever I was left with him.  It was horrifying.  I was not looking forward to taking care of him for 12 hours.  I made phone calls, I tried to get help.  Everyone was either sick or busy.  I was on my own.  But they came in and played and he didn’t do what he had been doing – he didn’t look at me with his lip quivering before he started screaming.  He smiled.  At the end of the day, he was following me everywhere, smiling, and holding his arms up for me to pick him up.  Oh thank God.  And thank God I was able to walk through that fear.

It’s Monday morning and I am already exhausted.  I have a lot to do.  Work and personal.  I don’t have my tree up yet.  I need to do that this week.  I have a friend coming over to stay the night on Friday.  I want the house to be festive for our little soiree.  She wants me to teach her how to make pierogies.  She loves spending the night at other people’s houses, so she invited herself to spend the night.  The first time she did this, I was so shocked, it literally took my breath away.  But we had fun.  So we have done it a few other times, before races or early workouts.  It will be nice to have her.

I hope my head will stop aching.  I hope my eyeballs will stop hurting.  I shall take some “airborne” because I feel like I am getting sick.  And there is no time on my calendar for that!  (Ain’t nobody got time for that!)

Have a wonderful day everyone.

 

This entry was posted in Friends, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to December 9

  1. jackie says:

    Beautiful photo. Of course I am not in the middle of deep snow!!!

  2. What a gorgeous, other-worldly winter photo! Denver is beautiful.

  3. Kelly says:

    I hope you are feeling better and were able to head off that cold! The sleep over sounds fun! As an adult, I’ve only had my sisters spend the night- no friends.

  4. Annette says:

    I love that you had your grand babies this weekend and that little one didn’t cry. That had to have felt so good. I hope you feel better.

  5. atomic momma says:

    That is a beautiful picture. So glad your grandson was better with you.

    Husband and I stopped exchanging gifts 7 years ago for any event and it was the best thing we ever did. Instead we cook a nice meal together that we decide on and it has been so much better than any store bought gift. It has taken the stress out of so many holidays for me.

    Just got over the cold you are dealing with. Lots of fluids and you will have to force yourself to get some sleep.

  6. Syd says:

    Great photo, MC. I think that sky is spectacular. I’m sure that the grandbaby has forgotten the sickness and anything that is negatively associated with it. You are his grandmother and he will love you because of that.

  7. daisyanon says:

    love the photo, thank you.

Leave a Reply

