Frigid Morning

IMG_7133Christmas lights on the deck.  They’d be prettier if I would turn them on, but that would require me to go outside.  It is 5 degrees F, with a wind chill of -7. It is really cold and in fact it took a while for me to get the back door open, it was stuck shut.

Looking forward to today.  I have only one meeting.  It is a meeting where I am not THE expert, just AN expert.  I will get to see a woman who attended a year-long leadership class with me back in the day.  She is a dear, and I am looking forward to seeing her.  Oh, and SHE is the expert on this subject.

I am considering registering for a spring half-marathon.  I know I said “never again,” but I miss it.  I wrote to my coach to see what she thinks.  I think I would like to do a May or June half, and an August sprint distance triathlon.  I just can’t stand the idea that I threw in the towel and decided to surrender to my age.  We shall see if my body will agree to this torture!

It sure would be a good day to stay at home and knit, but that is not my fate.  It’s good.  After a four day weekend, I am happy to go to work.

 

This entry was posted in Aging, Weather, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frigid Morning

  1. Syd says:

    Interestingly, it is going to be nearly 80 here today. Weird weather indeed.

    Also, your words got me thinking that I did not consider myself an expert on anything, while others did. I considered that there was much more to learn. Maybe I suffer from “imposter syndrome” a bit.

    • I never felt like an expert until my recent return to the hospital. I know that place backwards and forwards and have my own areas of expertise. It is valued and I am going to enjoy that for once in my life.

  2. Kelly says:

    I am so new to my field- this is my first year teaching. It will be a long time before I am anything close to an expert! If it doesn’t hurt you too much, I think it would be great for you to run again!

    • I think being an expert is overrated. It usually comes with age!

      I am excited about the prospect of trying it again. I will probably be walking a lot more than running, but I can still get out there.

Leave a Reply

