Second Day of December

IMG_7111Back to work after four days off.  I am ready to go back.  I am not good at a life with no structure.  I tend to hole up in my house and feel isolated.

Yesterday morning, I picked up one of my sponsees before daylight, and drove us to my home-group.  I was interested to see how she liked it.  I have suspected that I only love it so much because my people are there.  The people I got sober with.  She loved it as well, and said she would like to go with me every week.

There are many things whirling around my mind this morning.  Thinking about an accident my daughter witnessed yesterday.  A man who is probably now paralyzed.  Accidents reported on television.  Lives changed, lives ended.  It reminds me of my first job in healthcare.  In an acute care hospital, you hear these stories every day.  I never get used to them.  I am still haunted by several stories I witnessed there, now over 20 years ago.

I’ll head out to work, where people will get me focused on other things.  Problems and challenges in this moment.  In my life.  It will be good to present in my own life today.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Second Day of December

  1. Chenai says:

    I know what you mean about needing structure. I live alone and quite an isolated life, and I find that on weekends sometimes I just do nothing but sleep all day. When I was drinking, I used to think it was because I was hung over, but now that I’m sober and I sleep all day anyway, part of me realises its because I don’t really have anything I have to do, and it makes me sluggish, and sleeping is an escape from the loneliness or isolation, the same way drinking once was. It seems that on days when I am forced to come to work and be productive, it ends up being better for me.

  2. Kelly says:

    Have a good Monday!

  3. Syd says:

    I understand about not having structure and isolating. I tend to like solitude and somedays don’t want to leave the property. Hope that your day is good.

  4. Annette says:

    I do better with structure too. I lean toward filling every minute up which isn’t always good. It’s a nice form of avoidance I think. Lol

Leave a Reply

