Overslept!

IMG_5614My plan was to get up super early this morning and get to the grocery store before work.  For some reason, I slept for almost 10 hours instead.  I will likely go ON my way to work, I have only a few things on my list, I’m making one pie – that’s it.  The pound of butter can come inside work to our department fridge.  The rest can wait outside in the car.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving.  It is a lovely holiday.  It is about abundance and gratitude and giving.  That’s all great stuff.

BUT, if you listened to any of the 24 hour news channels, as I do, Thanksgiving is the day BEFORE the BIG day!  Black Friday!  Stores are now opening on Black Friday Eve – Thanksgiving – to get a head start.  Facebook is atwitter with people complaining about Walmart, and why are the stores opening early, and the greed of the retailers.  You know what I say?  If we are so offended, we should stay home.  They wouldn’t do this if it didn’t make them a lot of money.  I wouldn’t set foot in a retail establishment on Black Friday if you paid me (well, maybe if you paid me a lot I would go, but I digress….).  Stay home.  Don’t participate.

I will participate in Small Business Saturday.  I will go to the local downtown of a town that used to be a town and not a suburb.  It is lovely.  I will go to my local yarn store and purchase the yarn needed to make the remainder of the Christmas gifts.  It costs a lot more than going to walmart and purchasing huge skeins of acrylic, but it is high quality wool and it is worth a few cents more.

Enough of my philosophy of retail!  Have a great day-before-Thanksgiving.

 

This entry was posted in Junk-blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Overslept!

  1. Kelly says:

    I’m not a fan of black Friday- you won’t see me out shopping, either. My sister works retail and she works at 8pm on Thanksgiving. I just don’t get it.

  2. Annette says:

    I have never done Black Friday….but I confess, I did send my husband one year. Once out of 29 years though….thats not so bad! Neither one of us will be doing this year though. We have a simpler plan in mind for gifts etc.
    Also, I just have to say, I don’t like acrylic yarn…..I have some, but its yukky. Its not real, its artificial ingredients. I’m glad you purchase the real stuff. :o) Kind of flows with the rest of your authentic life.
    I am cleaning today and making desserts later this evening, then working 11pm-8am, then home for the feast! I am so looking forward to tomorrow. The first time in a long time. I hope your day is lovely with your family and your grandbabies. Enjoy!

  3. Connie says:

    I went shopping on Black Friday a couple of times with my daughter while in Las Vegas living. That was crazy. I will be going to the small businesses. Happy Thanksgiving. I get to bring salad. The family does not want me making pies.. Hee.

  4. sue tegland says:

    My sentiments also on Black Friday! It was fun a couple times when I was ‘way younger. I think before it was even called that.
    Plan on having a good meal and gratitude for family tomorrow, and hope your day is really good, too.

    • Thanks Sue for reminding me of that great day of shopping in my youth. The day after Thanksgiving used to be so much fun! No sales, it was just the roll-out of the Christmas season. In that small city in Ohio, we were all downtown on the day after Thanksgiving. But we didn’t camp out and wait for it and we didn’t kill each other trying to get the latest thing at the cheapest price. It was fun! I forgot all about that.

  5. Syd says:

    No Black Friday for us. I am going to a meeting and taking some of our Thanksgiving meal to a friend in program who can no longer get around easily. I hope that you have a great Thanksgiving of gratitude, MC.

Leave a Reply

