Snowy Morning

IMG_7083Text received from daughter this morning.  I’ll be careful.  And a little bit afraid.  Snow is one thing, ice another.  Ice is not fun to drive, especially not on the hills of my neighborhood.

I finally got to confession yesterday morning on my way to work.  Thank God for a church with confessions starting at 7:05 a.m. every day!  The priest was so nice to me!  We all have different personalities, he said, maybe mine is a bit more “passionate.”  My penance?  Write a gratitude list with my evening prayer every night.  Look at where I fell short and ask God for his help.  (Sounds a lot like a 10th step to me.)  Awesome.  I used to do a written 10th step every day, and it certainly could not hurt me to do that again.  I started last night.

And now I must get ready for my day.  I will pray again for a calm day.  Yesterday was not calm.  It was a bit of a nightmare.  I am wondering if my honeymoon is over.  This job is HARD.  I knew it would be, but I don’t think I anticipated how I would FEEL when I couldn’t get my job done in spite of working an average of 10 hours a day, and how it would FEEL to have people literally chasing me down in the hallways.  I will talk with the #1 offender today.

I got out my retirement chart yesterday and looked at it.  Is it really worth it to spend these years of my life working towards retirement – increasing my retirement income by 2.5% per year.  These are years of my life.  I won’t make a decision based on a month’s experience.  But I will not spend the days of my life being miserable in a chase for a few more bucks.  If I must be dirt poor, then I must be dirt poor.

I don’t want to write the real words, so I will just say I am a bit of a cump lie ence off-a-ser.  I had someone chase me down the hall yesterday with something she “found” (by digging through files that were none of her freaking business) that was a vie-o-lay-shun.  Creating weeks of paperwork for me.  WHY can’t people work together?  Could someone come to me and say “there is a bunch of stuff that you probably should take a look at.”  Instead of bringing me bunches and creating vie-o-lay-shuns.  OK – maybe if I just think of them being spelled like an illiterate person would spell them, it will make them seem better?  Yep.

That and knowing that God is at my side always.

 

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Prayer, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snowy Morning

  1. Kelly says:

    I tried to comment yesterday, but I don’t think it went though. I was saying that like reading about your children- that is an interesting part of your life, too. I hope today is calm, and that is a neat penance! Kind of out of the box.

  2. Nancy G says:

    Sometimes I wish that we had formal confession in my non-denominational church. I can only imagine that it would feel good to get some of my daily “missteps” off of my chest! Thankful for a compassionate sponsor who I can run some of these things by… Wishing you safe journeys on those snowy Colorado roads!

  3. Syd says:

    I don’t know about whether 2.5 % is worth it but for me, I am so glad to be doing other things. I saw some of my staff at lunch the other day and listening to their recitations of stuff going on at work makes me glad to not be there. I am grateful to have retired when I did.

  4. Mary LA says:

    Drive safely. And wishing you a little peace from all the inner and outer dramas around work.

Leave a Reply

