All Hallows Eve

IMG_5503It’s the day before All Saint’s Day.  All Hallows Eve.  Halloween.

I used to look at it as a pagan holiday, but then I learned more.  About the tradition and the meaning.  It has deep Christian roots.

Today I woke at four a.m. to wind blowing leaves and debris against my windows.  I can hear it whipping around my house, it likes to pay particular attention to my sky lights.  It is sufficiently creepy for the day.  Today my department will be dressed in costumes, including me.  I have a big meeting at 10:00 with a bunch of big shots, I am quite certain I will be the only one in costume, but that is OK.  It is a wonderful thing to not be thinking about promotions, but just lasting for three years 🙂  This evening all of my grandchildren and 2/3 of my children will be here.  I am so happy that I get to make the mummy hot dogs and ghost cookies, etc.  When the little ones move away and the big ones grow, I will no longer be doing this.  But I am living in today, right?  And it is good.

Tomorrow I have a sponsee’s 8th birthday to attend.  Then I will drive like the wind to get to mass for All Saints Day.  This is the one year anniversary of finding the church that I consider such a blessing.  On that day, I was going to meetings all over town and had no idea where I would be at the end of the day.  I wrote on my calendar a list of churches and the mass times for All Saints.  I ended up on the campus that I am now working at, and went to the nearest church for mass at 6:00 p.m.  And found my home.

I am grateful to God for that and so many other things.  I can see his hand all over my life.  The last year was so incredibly miserable, and my surrender was so complete, I think He had the ability to finally work in my life.  Thank God.

 

This entry was posted in Depression, Family, Feasts, Surrender, The Church. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All Hallows Eve

  1. Syd says:

    Glad that you will be in costume. We will be celebrating Halloween with the squirrels, foxes, deer and other critters. I don’t think that we have had but one child come in over 24 years of living out here on the farm.

  2. Mj kelly says:

    Just wanted to say that I am glad you are doing so well ! I follow you and know how difficult a year you have had. Great to find a church that is familiar and comforting each time you visit. Have a great Sunday.

Leave a Reply

