A Cold Autumn Morning

IMG_6801Fall apples from the farmers market.  After being peeled and sliced, they went into a pie.  The pie went into our tummies, and the rest is history.

I woke early this morning thinking I would go swimming.  I did my prayer and meditation and then sat at my computer.  Before I knew it, an hour was gone.  I just felt like sitting here without hurrying.  I am done in by all the hurrying I have been doing.  So here I sit, another day with no exercise.

My daughter’s boyfriend took her to a hot springs close to town last night.  I hope a soak would do her some good.  She has said she will go to the doctor today.  It is heartbreaking to see my girl with a pale white pain face, while she walks slowly into the house.  The only time she has ever been less than the little ray of sunshine everyone loves was when she was on meth and needed to sleep.  She would come in and go immediately to the sofa and would be impossible to wake.  It is frightening to consider what back injuries can do to people in recovery.    I said to my daughter yesterday that “pain turns the whole world black, doesn’t it?”  She heartily agreed.  Bless her heart.  I hope she will not be like me.  I hurt my back when I was in my late thirties, and it has never been right since.  I have learned how to be a person in pain.  Chronic.  Not acute.  It hurts just to look at her in acute pain.

Of all the difficulty of getting older, I think watching my kids age might be the hardest.

This blog must go.  There are little commercials on the bottom of each post.  Some people get them, apparently some people don’t.  Whenever I open the blog on my phone, I get an ad.  Right now the ad is for a particular brand of house paint.  They change each time I open the blog.  (now it is for an android watch!)

I will go back to blogger.   Maybe I’ll start an entirely different blog.  Though I feel like I have said everything I have to say – twice or more times!

 

This entry was posted in Family, Meta-blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Cold Autumn Morning

  1. kel says:

    Please dont go! I still enjoy reading you every day!!

  2. Annette says:

    Well you never wrote about the saints and I’ve really been looking forward to that. Personally, I would love it if you taught us some about your Catholic faith. Like what all that “catholic stuff” means….the smoke coming out of that swinging thing that the priest swings back and forth? Lol what does that symbolize? Ash Wednesday? Lent? I guess I could take a class or read a book, but it’s a passion in your life and there is nothing like being taught something by someone who has a passion for it. Just here and there when the mood hits you….I would love it!
    As to your girl….my first thought when I read about her pain yesterday was, “uh oh.” It is so tricky for recovering addicts to find a way to manage pain. I’m praying Jesus touches her back with His wRm healing hands and brings some relief. My heart goes out to her…your sweet girl.

  3. Annette says:

    I don’t get any ads for what it’s worth.

  4. Kat Stephens says:

    I don’t get ads either. Luv ya, Kat

  5. Mary LA says:

    I don’t see any ads either — I’ve also had warnings from WordPress about ads appearing but nothing I can see so far.

    Prayers fro your daughter.

  6. Chenai says:

    I have never seen an ad on your site. I live in Europe maybe it differs by region. Please don’t go without telling us how to find you. You are a ray of sunlight in my day 🙂

  7. Kelly says:

    I hope that if you do go to blogger you will let us know how to find you there!

  8. Syd says:

    No ads that I can see. I surely hope the back pain is eased for your daughter. I have had a pulled muscle a couple of times in my lower back that brought me to my knees in pain. Not fun.

Leave a Reply

