Pondering a homily

IMG_5362At Mass last Friday, the priest said that if we had truly encountered Jesus, we could not help but tell everyone we met about it.  So that we could share our joy, and help others to experience the same.

We live in a culture where talking about Jesus is frowned upon.  “Don’t push your religion on me, man.”  In a culture where talking about atheism is encouraged because that is “freedom” from religion.

I search my soul, do I share the joy of my faith?  I write about it here – but not really much.  Everyone, and I do mean everyone, who knows me knows I  am a Catholic Christian.  If you walk into my house, the first thing you see is two icons, one of St. Michael the Archangel and the other the Theotokos and Christ Child.  When you turn around, there is another, Theotokos, on the mantle.  There is an entire book shelf full of books from my biblical studies. Sometimes people ask, and I am happy to share.  But if they don’t ask?  I don’t usually try to tell them.

In another homily, at another time, a less gifted deacon asked “If you were accused of being a Christian, would there be enough evidence to convict you?”  I hope there is.  I think there is.

But I really wonder, do I really show the joy of my encounter with Christ?  Or do I drone on about being a Catholic?  I was once accused of caring more about Catholicism than Jesus.  That was hard to take.  But it did cause me to think about it.  I love my church, I admit it.  But I also think I am the first person to notice when things in my church are out of whack.  Because it should be the bride of Christ.  Not the deity itself.

Just my thoughts on a Tuesday morning…..

 

This entry was posted in Faith, The Church. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pondering a homily

  1. Mary LA says:

    This is such a loaded question to ponder, Mary Christine. And perhaps some of the difficulty is that we want to share only the ideals and not the whole picture. So I might show someone the holy images in the front rooms but not the picture of the expensive unworn shoes you put up yesterday, or the prayer book next to the bed but not the unpaid bills in drawers. I have always felt that I need to show doubt as well as belief so as not to deceive others.

    To share means for me to share the harder stories — that at times I have been truly appalled by abusive priests and cover-ups. That I have struggled not just with the Church but with Christ and with other Christians. That certain hymns bring me out in hives and yet others make me weep for joy. That I am more secular than the generation who came before me and sometimes I am glad of that and sometimes not. I have kept faith with some teachings and just gone my own way in relationships at other times. And again and again I have come back to be shown more of the mystery of love and human vulnerability.

  2. Annette says:

    After being raised in many a “religious” group….I now only like to share and hear what is real. I share my experience….and I love to hear other people’s real Jesus experiences. Im not so big on the doctrine of religion anymore. I definitely believe that there is right and wrong but I think we are all in a process of knowing our God. In my life, its all about the relationship I have with Him which has been life giving in the truest sense of the words. So as to sharing that….when I share my story, I can’t help but include my faith anymore, because it is a life force for me. I used to be embarrassed and I think it was because it wasn’t authentic to me. It was something I had been taught…..but it wasn’t my real and personal experience.

  3. Syd says:

    I like the idea of sharing through actions, whatever the religion. I am not happy when someone tries to proselytize to me. But I appreciate those who live their faith.

Leave a Reply

