Fragile infrastructure

IMG_6753As I was watching that phenomenal football game last night in my jammies, Mr. Doggie came and put his big face on my leg, and looked at me like that!  Dammit!  I didn’t mean to love him!

I am sensing how very fragile so much of my life is.  The State of Colorado is having so many problems, it is ridiculous.  Oil leaks, gas leaks, sewage in water.  Amtrak is not running (where’s Hank Reardon when you really need him?) through the state because of flood damage to the rails.  Google mail did not work yesterday and I can’t get it to work this morning.  At work yesterday I found myself calling people and asking them where “that thing you were going to send me” was.  “I sent it 2 hours ago!” was the usual answer.  Then getting e-mail from the boss and discovering it was already hours old and he wanted an answer right away!  So much we take for granted that we probably shouldn’t.  It is fragile.

I think I can rely on e-mail, voice mail (that wasn’t working either), and computers in general.  I carry my iPhone around like it is my lifeline.  I wonder if these are my idols.  And I am practicing idolatry.

If I put my reliance on God, he never fails me.  I think it is a far better idea than putting my reliance on my phone.  Now if I can just live that way!  (she says as she is looking at her iPhone right next to her for other important!!! things while blogging.)

Reliance upon God.  Reliance upon God.  Reliance upon God.

 

This entry was posted in Dog. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fragile infrastructure

  1. And the ads have to go! I will have to go back to blogger.

  2. Syd says:

    I’m a slave to technology. Just sayin’

  3. Gigi McGuire says:

    Hahaha! Love it! =)

  4. Annette says:

    First off, I LOVE that dog! He could come and live with me any old day!
    Secondly, you are so right….I run my whole life from my iphone. I once left it in the grocery store and was in a panic. How will I know where to go next, what about my mobile banking, what about that text convo I was in the middle of, all of my contacts??!! Fortunately I found it within an hour… thus a short lived panic. I think back to the days when we had none of this technology….like the 70’s and the 80’s and I think we all moved slower, our brains weren’t bombarded with the constant stream of information and being reachable at any given moment. I wonder if we were more patient….we were used to waiting for the mailman to come, waiting to get home to use the phone that was connected to the wall by a curly cord, we traveled to stores to make our purchases. We had restrictions that slowed us down…..and I don’t know that that was necessarily a bad thing.
    And yes Mary, doing something for the heck of it….what a great idea. I will give that a whirl as soon as I have some time. :o)

  5. That dog is ridiculous cuteness!

  6. Mary LA says:

    Dog love. Nothing like it.

Leave a Reply

