Day of Prayer and Fasting

DownloadedFileI am participating in this day of fasting and prayer for peace in Syria.  Pope Francis has proclaimed this day throughout the world.  The Cathedral in Denver, and probably cathedrals and churches all over the world will be holding vigils tonight from 7 p.m. until midnight.  I will go to the Cathedral even though that is past my bedtime (which would be part of a fast, doing things you don’t want to do and not doing things you want – like stuffing my face)!

I swam 1 kilometer this morning and it was oh, so delightful.  But anyone who has ever done any swimming probably knows what that does to you…. yes, it makes you hungry.  I had a piece of bread for my “brunch.”  I will have another piece of bread later.  And yes, I know, it is only 11:45 in the morning, and already I am complaining because I am hungry.  I guess that’s how I can know I am really doing something  – maybe later I will be able to sacrifice without complaining about it!  I’m not there yet.

Just think how powerful it would be if everyone joined together in prayer for peace!  If you would like to join this vigil, I am quite certain that every church in every town and city has made some arrangement to participate in this worldwide event.   I have just heard that tens of thousands have shown up at St. Peter’s Square.  I will be doing my small little part, right here in Colorado.

This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day of Prayer and Fasting

  1. Syd says:

    I hope that there will be no involvement in Syria from the US. I am sorry about the killing of the Syrian people, but when we don’t even understand the language and customs, what can we do? Perhaps Israel and Turkey will step up to do something. I’ve had enough of war and bombardment for our country.

Leave a Reply

