What I was waiting for

IMG_5316Yesterday I had a meeting at work that was everything I ever desired.  I sat and marveled at it.  I was sitting in the new director’s office.  I have spent many an hour in that office with the old director.  I have laughed and cried in that office.  In the later years, I spent more time crying than laughing.

The first time I entered that office, there was wood paneling, a bunch of dark wooden furniture, and a plaid sofa.  The last director kept the paneling, got rid of the dark wooden furniture, and put a bunch of white leather stuff in there.  It was dark and rather unseemly to me.  The new director got rid of the dark paneling and painted the walls a nice color of beige.  He got rid of the leather furniture, and got something a little bit more appropriate for an office.  All of the stacks of paper are gone.  It is organized and neat.

I had no idea I was going to get the project of a lifetime handed to me yesterday.   Together with a vote of confidence in the fact that I am “uniquely qualified” to get it done.  I couldn’t argue, I really am uniquely qualified for this task.  It will likely take a couple of years.  I could not be more excited.  When I retire, I will leave a legacy behind.  I will have done something other than just keep up with the day-to-day.  I am thrilled.

Soon I will be complaining about the hours and the interpersonal problems and how very tired I am.  YAY!  Signs of a real life, with a real job.  I. am. so. excited.

Earlier in the morning, I met the stranger for coffee.  It was delightful.  I thought I would be there for 20 minutes to a half hour, but we talked for an hour and a half.  We laughed frequently, which is so important to me.  He was taken with my appearance, which you cannot fake.  (Yes, men, we do know the difference.)  We left with plans for phone calls to arrange to meet again.  He texted later in the day that he really enjoyed meeting me.  Nice.

And now I am off to the gym.  As I have been sitting here, I have thought things like “OH!  I need a water bottle!”  and “OH!  I need a gym towel!”  I haven’t worked out at the gym, other than swimming, in years and years.  It should be an adventure!

Yesterday was SO good.  I woke too early this morning, not because I am anxious and depressed, but because I actually feel excited about my life today!

 

This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I was waiting for

  1. Syd says:

    Glad that the meeting went well and that you have an interesting project to work on. And the date–good for you to go through with it and happy that you found the fellow to be nice. Being engaged with life and enjoying it is a wonderful thing.

  2. sherylswool says:

    I was so happy to read about your day. Life on life’s terms – the bad and the good.

  3. Annette says:

    What a great post! Your coffee date sounds like it was so fun! You got a double helping yesterday of being appreciated and acknowledged as not only beautiful, but brilliant too. Sounds like a really good day!

  4. Dede says:

    So happy for you!

Leave a Reply

