Labor Day

IMG_6679I spent yesterday morning painting the white parts of my front porch.  It was a real eye-opener for me.  I am not as flexible or as strong as I used to be.  I went to 24 hour fitness yesterday afternoon and joined again.  If I am not going to be training for long distance running events, I must do something.

I have always dreaded the thought of taking “classes” at the gym, but I think that is probably exactly what I am going to do.  I have got to switch it up, and perhaps Zumba and Body Pump would be good.  Mixed in with swimming of course.  I swam this morning and it was wonderful. Back to my baseline of 1/2 mile.  Not too shabby.

Other things to take care of today.  Getting the oil changed.  Paying the bills.  Taking one or two modules of an online class in ICD-10.  And maybe chilling the late afternoon away, while knitting that crazy baby blanket for my former boss.

The labor never really ends, does it?  And that is a good thing.

 

This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Labor Day

  1. Syd says:

    And it looks like your cute dog friend is watching you with a lot of love. I work out at the gym. It helps in the heat. I understand about not feeling able to labor continuously as I used to do.

    • It’s kind of a rude awakening when it happens, isn’t it? I thought if I just kept going, I would keep my strength and flexibility. Not going to happen. But I know it can be improved – with work!

  2. Annette says:

    I am looking forward to tomorrow when everyone goes back to work and school tomorrow and I can have a whole day to myself to labor without interruption. I too love seeing the dog sitting in the doorway watching you. He loves you MC! ❤

  3. Kelly says:

    Swimming sounds divine right now- maybe sometime in the future I’ll be able to find time to do a few laps here and there.

  4. jackie says:

    MC,
    I just wanted to throw this at ya. I used to run. too many injuries, surgeries and age to keep it up. I am in a gym 3 or 4 days a week. Eliptical for an hour burns 700 calories. I also do body pump (Les Mills) 2 to 3 x’s a week. I love it. I am the type to go to the “classes” and eventually have made some great friends there. Swimming in there some too. Ahhh excercise. For me, it really is about moving! Thank you for posting. You are my morning read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

