Respite

IMG_6646My daughter and her doggie have gone to spend the night with her former b.f.  I really dislike this man, he has been so bad to my daughter.  But here’s the deal:  She is 34 years old.  She can make her own decisions, good or bad.  She knows how I feel about him – I don’t need to reiterate it.  God bless her.

Here’s the other truth, I have the house to myself for a few hours or a day or a week, I do not know.  But I know that I am alone in my house right now.  And I like that a lot.  I will rejoice on the day that I wash all the walls, clean the windows, take down the curtains and wash them, scrub all the floors, beat all the rugs, and vacuum up every strand of dog hair.  I want my clean house back!

She knows that I need her to find a place by mid-September.

I am off to work now.  I am liking my job a little bit more each day.  Today I will go to my major meeting of the month, with my new graphs and presentations.  No more black and white single-spaced lists of numbers.  I will talk with the docs about using the current version of the DSM instead of the shiny new one (which our computer system does not understand).  We will talk about forms and information management systems.  What fun! And I am not even being slightly sarcastic.  I liked this field well enough to get a bachelor’s degree in it.  It is so good to be back in it!

 

This entry was posted in Dog, Family, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Respite

  1. Kelblogg says:

    I think it is big of you not to harp on how much you dislike this man. I would imagine it to be hard, though.

    I’m glad you like your work so much. I hope I find myself liking my career just the same after I’ve done it for a while!

  2. Syd says:

    It’s good to have time to myself. One of the benefits of having a big house is getting to have our own “spaces”. But we do have dog hair and have one of those Rainbow vacs that does a great job. No slobber though on the draperies or walls. Some small comfort there.

  3. Annette says:

    I love being home alone! It happened for one night this last weekend. It was the first time in YEARS that I can remember being home alone. When it was bedtime it felt a little weird….I made sure everything was locked which I never do at night. LOL And yeah….we have signs of dog life all around us.

    I’m glad there is light at the end of the tunnel for you as far as having your house back.

  4. Annette says:

    Ok and that was one difference in me being home alone…..I let all of the dogs in and to sleep in my room with me! LOL When my hubs is home thats not allowed.

Leave a Reply

