Happiest Saturday Morning

IMG_6638Over the last six or seven weeks since I returned to the hospital, my routines have been changing.  I am going to different grocery stores, a different post office, different restaurants, etc.  These things are bringing back wonderful memories of how happy I used to be.

I am pretty sure I have decided to quit the long distance running (or shuffling) for now.  I am not going to rejoin my running club, even though I love a lot of those people and I do miss them.  But this morning, I woke up when I woke up, without an alarm.  And once awake, I had no where I HAD to be.  It occurred to me that I could drive to the little lake nearby and take a walk around it.  I used to log a lot of miles there, but in little bits at a time.  For now, I am going to do short mileage on a more frequent basis, and if I hate it I won’t do it.  I will find something else.

I have done what a lot of vegetarians end up doing.  Turning into a carbetarian.  After I had eaten the senior pancake plate at IHOP for lunch yesterday, I thought, this insanity must end!  It took until about 4 p.m. for me to start to feel normal again.  On the way home from work, I stopped at the Barnes and Noble I used to go to, and purchased the book “Paleo Diet.”  It will be an utter and complete change from being a vegetarian, but I feel pretty horrible and I am pretty sure it is my crappy diet.  This morning I have eaten 2 eggs with roasted orange and green pepper and tomatoes.  With a peach and nuts for desert.  Yeah, this is good!  I think this may help my failing energy levels.  Oh, and the couple of miles a day will too.

I cooked an organic free-range chicken last night in the crock pot with onions, tomatoes, and mushrooms.  It is time to take it out and break the chicken apart and chill for later.  Yummmmsters.  I haven’t eaten chicken in a year.

If I can do this for 6 months, I will go get another lipid panel and see how it has impacted my levels.  They were good when I had them done last month, but they could be much better.

Everything just feels good this morning.  I don’t have to be anywhere until 3:30 when I need to be at church.  My house is nice and cool on a hot summer’s day and I can sit here and knit if I feel like it!

And here’s another thing:  Last year while I was training for my September half marathon, I was logging a lot of miles on my treadmill.  I would watch old episodes of The Biggest Loser on Hulu Plus because it inspired me.  I watched it yesterday morning and I couldn’t stand it.  When I see Jillian screaming into a 400 lb. man’s face that “You’re my bitch now!”  I am not inspired, I am disgusted.  That is abuse, clear, and simple, and it is NOT OK.  I can see being direct because those people really need help, but not abusive.  The 17 months with an abusive boss must have led me to believe that it was inspirational last year.  It sure as hell is not this year.

THANK YOU GOD.

 

 

This entry was posted in Food, Gratitude, History, Nature, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happiest Saturday Morning

  1. sue tegland says:

    love it. First the deacon, then Jillian. Looks like discovering boundaries! What a joyful, safe thing!

  2. Syd says:

    It is really nice to get up and not have a specific schedule. I so enjoy that kind of freedom now.

  3. Annette says:

    I’ve been considering making a low carb diet change too. I’ve been doing weight watchers…sometimes stringently and other times, like now, loosely. I need a change.
    Jillian would destroy me…not only physically.
    It sounds like you are learning how to be gentle with yourself?

Leave a Reply

