Georgetown to Idaho Springs

GTIS MedalThis very well might be my favorite medal of all.  I have quite a few of them, but this one is so special to me.

I had a good race.  I was so afraid of disastrous events and horrible results.  I was not trained adequately, the race starts at 8,500 ft., it is downhill for a good percentage – which is the worst possible thing for knees.   I took it easy for the first 8 miles, because I know if I am going to be horribly sick by 8 or 9 miles, and when I knew I felt OK, I kicked it in the butt.  My results were less than stellar, but I did the race, got the medal, and feel good about it.

GTIS StartThis photo was taken at Georgetown Lake while we were waiting for the race to start.  It was in the mid-40s, and the sun was rising.  I was busy chit-chatting with my friends.  I had a bad case of nerves.  Another friend was feeling a bit shaky, we started out together for the first couple of miles.  The weather warmed, the sun shone, the scenery was gorgeous.

I am so glad I did this race.  But suffering terribly for it.  I slept for 12 hours last night – unheard of!  When I (barely) got out of bed this morning, I knew that going to church was out of the question.  I will go to confession tomorrow, but there is no earthly way I can move this body anywhere right now.  (You might wonder why I would confess to this – it is because once I miss one Sunday’s mass, it is easier to miss next week’s and the week after that – I’ve done it before – I know.)

Here’s the other thing:  I came home after the race and had to get ready for a birthday dinner for my son.  While still in my sweaty running clothes, I baked a pie (from scratch, of course).  I vacuumed the remaining rugs (those that survived the dog diarrhea incident earlier last week), mopped the floors, and got ready for the shindig.  I had an ice-bath, got dressed, and then the guests started arriving.  It was super nice.  After dinner, I got to sit in the rocker and rock my 6 month old grandson to sleep.  There is nothing like a sleeping baby’s head on a grandmother’s breast.  Nothing.  As my 2.5 year old granddaughter was leaving, she said “thanks for the pie nana.”  Oh dear, my heart melted and everything in the universe fell into place!

It’s kind of a shame that I have to feel this bad to be able to sit and do nothing on a Sunday.  But the wonderful thing is, I built this into my plans for the week, and I CAN sit and do nothing today.  I don’t believe I COULD do anything even if I needed to.

I am so grateful to God for this day, and all of the days before it.  All of the joy, sunshine, tears, pain, love, family, friends, and life.  Even that dang dog. He loves me for some reason.  And this old body that can still do a 13.1 mile race even without training right.  Oh, and let’s not forget the Klondike bars that were the only thing I wanted after the race yesterday.

Klondikes

I just thank you for everything.

This entry was posted in Dog, Family, Gratitude, Mass, Nature, Race, Rest, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Georgetown to Idaho Springs

  1. Annette says:

    Oh you did it! Yay you! I’m so happy for you! And the birthday dinner AFTER the race….you are amazing!

  2. Syd says:

    Really nice medal. Glad that you are taking it easy. Sounds like the party was great too. I am glad that your day was filled with good things.

  3. Kelly says:

    Everything sounds wonderful!

  4. Kat Stephens says:

    All is right!

    Hugs
    Kat

  5. dr24hours says:

    That is a gorgeous medal. Very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

