After the Dust Settles

IMG_5075

 

I am facing my first real problem at work.  It is a dandy.  My predecessor left me a big fat mess in her haste to retire.  It impacts one the beloved staff in my department, I have known her since the day she started there, 17 years ago.  She retires tomorrow and I have to deliver some bad news to her – because of sloppy work done before I got there.  There is no sense in writing more than this.

I myself got a new boss last week.  He is a friend of mine.  His wife is a fellow marathoner and we have trained together and raised money together for an agency that provides free home health care to the indigent.  Anyway, I love this guy.  He is a tough guy, seriously.   He can be a hard-ass.  But he told me yesterday he has a lot to learn from me and we can work collaboratively, not so much “boss” and “employee.”  Good.  Yesterday he helped me greatly with the above situation.   I told him “the honeymoon is over.”  We laughed because we both know a job honeymoon is usually short-lived.

Yesterday I actually thought about retirement again.  I CAN retire on December 1.  It would be extremely unwise for me to do so, but I can if I want to.  I think this week is just going to be challenging for me, but I will get through it.

Like most alcoholics, I am trying to live in this world and react sanely and normally.  There are bad situations.  We can acknowledge those without drama.   We can respond reasonably.  We don’t have to swing from the extremes of self-righteous indignation and anger – or – deciding that it really isn’t a bad situation, we think we are just imagining it because we are mental defectives.

As someone who recently experienced a hellish depression, I start feeling a teense of unhappiness, and a little voice says – Oh, God, Please, No – This Cannot Be Another Round of Depression.  Please.

It’s just a bad situation.  One that I will get through.

By the Grace of God.

Blessed be the God of Israel, from everlasting to everlasting!  Amen and Amen.  — Psalm 41:13

 

This entry was posted in Depression, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to After the Dust Settles

  1. Kelly says:

    Yes, you’ll make it through. And, if all else fails, it sounds like you have options!

  2. Syd says:

    All those ups and downs seem to take more of a toll, especially after so many years in a job. I finally had enough of it and took my leave with retirement. I haven’t looked back. But I know that you love this job, and that whatever this is, I am confident that you will make it through and do what is good and just.

Leave a Reply

