Soaking in the Creek

IMG_6593I wish this photo could do justice to the experience of sitting in that ice cold creek.  The rocks you see standing up are somehow balanced on one another.  It was divine.  Boulder is definitely its own world.  

Again, ten miles just about killed me and I expect to spend the rest of the weekend recovering.  I have a half marathon in 2 weeks.  Then I will reevaluate whether I want to do this at all.  I think I have already decided to volunteer at my favorite fall race instead of running it.  I would like to be there and be a part of it, I just don’t think I want to actually do the thing again.  Maybe it’s a phase, but I don’t think so.  I think it is a magical line that we seem to cross when we turn 60, or in my case, 61.  I have talked to so many jock types who report the same thing.  Dang!  I thought if I just kept at it I would be able to do it for a long time.  It appears not.

My daughter removed herself from Facebook last week.  She said it was just causing too much drama in her life.  I can attest to the fact that it did.  Two days ago her phone broke.  She said she has to spend money on other things before she gets the phone fixed, and “besides, I am much happier without it.”  She really is.  She gets all involved in drama when she has her phone and fb and friends telling her what other people are doing.  

She is out looking for apartments today.  As much as I love having her here, I just don’t love that dog destroying my house.  I just noticed huge scratches in my bamboo floor from him.  My drapes may be ruined, or may be salvagable by cleaning.  My window sills all need to be sanded and painted.  The door to the garage needs to be sanded and painted.  I just don’t think it is OK for dogs to ruin things.  But then again, I am not a dog person.  And that silly dog has fallen in love with me!  

I have sour dough bread rising, and the couch is beckoning me.  Maybe I can grab a nap until the first rise is over.  

Life is good.  Thank you God.  

 

This entry was posted in Dog, Family, Gratitude, Race, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soaking in the Creek

  1. Annette says:

    Ohhhhhh your river spot is beautiful! Good for your girl….mature decision making.

  2. Syd says:

    Hurting so much after a run doesn’t sound good. I believe that our bodies tell us when to quit, but often I push myself with sheer will power. Not the best idea anymore.

Leave a Reply

