Settling In

IMG_6585Settling in to my new life.  On Thursday evenings when I leave work, I get to stop at my church, which is only a quarter mile from my workplace, for Eucharistic Adoration.  Last night I picked up a booklet with guidance on how to spend the Holy Hour.   As I went through the questions and prayers, I wept.  Is there a better place to weep?  I think not.

I’m exhausted to my very core.  Yesterday I was so tired I felt like I was hungover.  I have unfortunately been working 10 and 11 hour days.  There is so much groundwork to be laid, and I can’t get anything done during working hours.  Yesterday morning I closed my door all morning so that I could get a couple of big projects done.  When the department staff arrived, I came out and explained what I was doing.  I really dislike closed office doors, from both the inside and outside.  But I have too many people in and out of my office all day long to get anything done.  With the door closed I got a lot of stuff done!  When I got home, I ate and went to bed and got 10 hours of sleep!  I feel good this morning, and will only work until a reasonable hour today.

I wonder what “normal” people do over the weekend.  I am usually busy from early Saturday morning until Sunday evening at around 6 p.m.  In other words, I get no real rest. I don’t even know what that would look like.

I believe the Ten Commandments are created equal.  All of them.  I don’t think I should decide that I believe that murder or adultery is wrong because they are morally repugnant to me, and then decide that not honoring the Sabbath is OK because who does that?  So this week, I shall try to take Sunday off.  I will cook either tonight or tomorrow and then just chill on Sunday.

A delicious bean soup.  Sounds hearty for summer, but it is chock full of vegetables and tastes summery.  I need something that I can pack easily and bring to work for lunch.  Perhaps I will make a nice loaf of sour dough bread – yes, I’ll take the starter out of the fridge right now!

So, I am starting to discover the flies in the ointment at my new job.  It is not surprising.  Every job has them.  But I still know that I am in paradise every day.  I have a wonderful boss who is actually impressed with my work!  I have wonderful peers.  I have some wonderful staff in my department.  I feel safe and loved and productive.  That’s pretty awesome.

Happy Friday!

There is indeed a kind of faith without charity; but what the Apostle (James) says of this shows what a frightful condition it is:  You believe that there is one God.  You do well.  The devils also believe, and tremble.  Faith without charity is a faith mixed with terror.  Hence charity is the purest effect of faith; it emerges from it like the flower from the stock and roots.  — Monsignor Romano Guardini

 

This entry was posted in Prayer, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Settling In

  1. Chenai says:

    Hi Mary. I really hope you take the time to rest and recuperate at some point this weekend. It’s so important to rejuvenate from time to time. Glad you are still enjoying the job though!

  2. Annette says:

    My little one was once on a soccer team and a huge tournament was coming up….on a Saturday AND a Sunday. The coach let us all know he would be there sat but had found a replacement for himself for Sunday and his daughter wouldn’t be there. I guessed his reason and asked him. When he confirmed that was it, I told him I thought that was beautiful! It reminded me of Eric Liddell in chariots of Fire. God has a plan for our good in creating these ideas! He knew that someday the world would be out of control and people would need a break each week. Lol

  3. Syd says:

    This weekend is going to be not so busy. Hosting about 25 photographers tonight from the area. Hope that most won’t be coming here for dessert, coffee and tea afterwards but if they do, so be it. Tomorrow nothing on the agenda. Just chillin’. Glad that you are taking time for yourself on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

