Canine Love

IMG_6559This dog follows me wherever I go in the house and then lies at my feet.  It always cracks me up when he is in my tiny galley style kitchen.  With that big dog lying there, I can’t get into the fridge or the dishwasher and I cannot move!  But I think it is sweet.

How many unexpected things can happen in a short amount of time!  A year ago, I was terrified of dogs and refused to even MEET this dog.  Now he is living here and I have grown to actually like him.  I thought it was so cute the other morning, he came up to see me when I got up.  I usually get up at least an hour before my daughter, and he stays with her.  He had never come upstairs to see me.

I still don’t like the way he shakes his head and snot flies everywhere.  I am waiting until they leave to clean it.  I will need to wash walls, take down the curtains and wash them, and clean every corner of every surface in this whole house.  I have found that slime on the television set and as high as I am (5’7″) on the walls.  Even the duvet cover on my bed; he walks by and snot magically is transferred to it and any surface nearby.  Yesterday before I left for work, I noticed a huge streak of mucous on my black pants.  Lovely.

Something unexpected happened at work yesterday.  I am just writing this much here just to note it – this is, after all, my journal.  Things may be changing again…..  but only good.  only good.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.  — Matthew 11:28-30

 

This entry was posted in Dog, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Canine Love

  1. Annette says:

    Oh gosh, what happened!?
    The dog stories make me laugh…. I am constantly cleaning it up around here too. I love your new dog….there is one (an American bulldog) that is over 100lbs that is up for adoption in our area. He is older so no one has taken him, and he is so sweet. We all have been bugging my hubs to let us squeeze in one more. So far its a no and I think its going to stay that way.

  2. Kelly says:

    I like that you write here in the way that some people would write in a journal. You are very honest and it makes for a good read– I like being able to follow your journey.

    Funny about the dog- as I’ve gotten older I’ve become more wary about dogs. I think it is partially due to the frequent nightmares that I’ve had about dog attacks- something I never really thought much about in the past. Anyway, I’m glad you are doing just the opposite and getting over your fear.

  3. Syd says:

    That dog is so neat. The stories make me smile. My wife said that yesterday she vacuumed up two containers of dog hair from three rooms that were vacuumed only 4 days ago. There are disadvantages but for us, the advantages of having pets far outweighs the other stuff.

Leave a Reply

