Getting On

IMG_6514There was a time, not so long ago, when just looking at this photo would have induced sweaty palms and terror in my heart.  But now I look at this little guy – well, he is not little at all – and think, awwww, how cute.  How did this happen?  My daughter will soon be moving out, she will be getting her own apartment.  She will take little fish-face with her.  I will actually miss him.  Weird!

The love-fest continues at work.  I actually was embarrassed by it yesterday.  My predecessor and I visited one of the units where there happened to be several of my old buddies.  They ran over and hugged me.  One is a fellow AA member and she whispered in my ear that she just celebrated 24 years – I told her I am about to celebrate 29.  Later in the day, one of the court-appointed attorneys was in the office.  I snuck up behind him and patted him on the shoulder.  When he turned around he couldn’t believe it was me.  Hugs, kisses, exclamations of surprise and happiness abounded.

It’s just roots.  That’s all.  I grew up in that place.  And I plan to grow old there too.  The grouchiness will return, I know that.  But for now, I am so relieved and happy to be in a place where I belong – on a profound level.  It’s just so good.

It’s not time yet to grouse about the hours or the fact that I need to wear my name badge at all times.  I will buy (another) pretty lanyard and get used to it.  I should get my keys today!

 

This entry was posted in History, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Getting On

  1. Chenai says:

    Oh Mary, seeing you so happy in a new job gives me hope that circumstances can always change if you hold out hope. I am just so thrilled that you started a new job and that it’s the complete opposite of the old nightmare. Congratulations, congratulations! And since we are sharing, I just got my 60 day chip last week 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    Yay for getting your keys! And they have very pretty lanyards at places like Hallmark, of all places, for not too expensive.

    • Thanks for the tip. I will check out Hallmark. I can’t seem to find one I like. I bought a Vera Bradley one last year, but it is too heavy on my neck. Besides, I need a break-away lanyard because I spend some time on the units.

      • Kelly says:

        They had Vera Bradley ones at Hallmark, when I went. I have one (but from an actualy Vera Bradley store) and, while I haven’t worn it around my neck enough to notice if it is heavy or not, I do know that it is breakaway. It doesn’t look like it (I don’t know what it would look like) but if I put it around my neck and yank, it pops right off.

  3. Annette says:

    I have been reading and am SO SO happy for you. Just swamped and hate replying on my phone. ❤

  4. Syd says:

    I really like the dog–he has a great expressive face. Glad that the love fest is continuing. That’s better than the alternative.

    • I have really grown to like this dog. I will be sad when he leaves. But then I will wash every surface of the house – including the curtains, and paint the door to the garage and all of the window sills. And it will make me happy to have a clean house again.

Leave a Reply

