First Day

IMG_6533Yesterday was wonderful.  To start a new job with people stopping by to hug me, what can I say about that?  It’s nice.

At orientation, I was handed policies to review.  I thought, well, I think I am familiar, I wrote these things!   That said, I have a lot to learn.

I had lunch with my daughter yesterday!  The one who works in the building.  We can again have lunch.  Today there will be a going away lunch for the person whose job I am taking.

The fly in the ointment?  (you knew there had to be at least one, right?)  The hours.  I wasn’t aware that starting time was 7:30.  I thought it was a bit of a hardship that it was 8:00.  But it is a half hour earlier than that!  I woke up this morning to the alarm and thought (because I am definitely an alcoholic) – I have to do this for the rest of my working life?  Yep.  One day at a time.

My predecessor yesterday said “oh, come on Mary.  You are a short-timer.”  She’s really right.  I could be out of there in December if I wanted.  But I think it is highly unlikely that I will want to.

When I left there yesterday, I walked through that parking lot (which is FREE!!!!!!!), and thought “I belong here.  I know this place like the back of my hand.  I am a department director here.  I feel good about what I do.”  This is so much different than than my thoughts on my old job:  “I am a 61 year old new person here, I am unfamiliar with this place.  I take bits of data out of one excel spreadsheet, put it into another spreadsheet, make a graph and put it into a powerpoint presentation.  And I know the data are manipulated to look good.”

It’s good.  Phew.  Phew.  Phew.

Is it really possible to reject conscience?  Yes, of course.  The baby is crying.  Should I get up to feed him?  Yes.  Will I get up to feed him?  I might not.  If not, then I have rejected conscience.

But there is a more radical way of rejecting conscience.  It involves not seeing your actions through the lens of right and wrong at all.  — Father John Dominic Corbett, O.P.

 

This entry was posted in Gratitude, History, Hope, Uncategorized, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Day

  1. Hope says:

    So glad to hear the news from your first day. That is a great quote.

  2. Kelly says:

    I’m glad yesterday was such a good day for you- even if you do have such an early start time. Lunch with your daughter, free parking, welcoming hugs….I couldn’t have imagined it any better for you!

  3. Syd says:

    Such a good start to your new job. And I would hate that early time as well, but ODAT will get you through. The new rose photo at the top is really nice. I meant to tell you that before.

  4. bambusue says:

    With your old job, there were strikes against you; with this new one, there are assets for you. Just in the basic setup. So, off to a good start! Sounds so great to hear the relief and delight in your ‘voice’!!

Leave a Reply

