On a Friday

IMG_6521The 4th of July is over.  Last night I wondered if I am just becoming a cranky old woman.  All the scoff-laws on my street, were out for hours, with all sorts of fireworks.  Which are illegal in this city in a state that is highly flammable.  I heard the drunken laughter – you know, the high hilarity that no one else could possibly “get.”  Nope I don’t get it.  I just wanted to have a house standing this morning, and I do.  I didn’t call the police, even though I wanted to.  Instead I went out on my back porch, all decked out in lights for the 4th, and sat for hours.  Chill, I told myself, chill.

This morning I am taking a whole bunch of blood tests that required me to fast.  Can you believe that I called and asked for them?  I did a health assessment the other day and realized that all the info I have about cholesterol, etc., are over 2 years old.  I will see how not eating meat has impacted the lipid panel.  I have a feeling it will be worse.  The lowest levels I ever recorded were when I was on a high fat, low carb diet.  I think it is the carbs, especially sugar, that kill us, I really do.  (and now this will bring visitors to my blog who write about diets – this is not something that I care to write about, so please see this as an anomaly, OK?)

I’m getting a lot of knitting done.  I think some of it may be marketable.  I will likely show you the finished products tomorrow.

Have a wonderful Friday if you can.  And if you can’t, that is OK too, I will not judge you and will pray no one else does either.

 

This entry was posted in Junk-blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On a Friday

  1. Annette says:

    I cant wait to see your knitting. I’m investigating the paleo way of eating. A friend last night was telling me her eating plan….no carbs after 5:00. There is so much I don’t know! I was raised eating fried chicken TV dinners in the little foil plates.
    have a beautiful day MC! Are you looking forward to Monday?

    • I grew up on a heart diet because my dad had a heart attack when he was very young. When I left home I discovered crazy things like cakes, whipped cream, mashed potatoes, cookies, and fried foods! YUMMY!

      I AM looking forward to Monday.

  2. Syd says:

    We have a friend who does a lot of sewing and knitting. She markets her “goods” at local farmer’s markets and festivals. I had the same problem on the boat with drunks on other boats going until way after midnight. It made me tired today because I was worried that their antics could impact the safety of my boat. But all turned out well. Step three, step three….

    • Thanks for sharing this Syd. I really was beating myself up for being so cranky. But I would like my house to stay intact until I decide to sell! And I don’t think a couple of drunk people have the right to start another damn fire!

  3. Kelly says:

    I don’t think it means you are becoming a cranky old woman. I still consider myself young enough and I get annoyed by idiocy and antics of different sorts.

  4. Pammie says:

    My total number is 251. I’m working on that.
    I too am tired of loud crazy drunks.

Leave a Reply

