Stuff to do on a Staycation

IMG_6496I began work on this hat yesterday.  It is not done yet, as you can see the circular needle is at top.  I don’t like making it and I don’t really like the hat.  I thought it was going to be way cute with the little knit dreadlocks. But I don’t think it is that cute. The yarn cost $20., so if I were to sell it, it would have to cost more than $20., and I think that is a crazy price for a crazy baby hat.  Darn it.  I am also working on a beautiful baby blanket – which was once intended for my boss’ baby shower.  I got over that idea last week.

I am not really bored, but I feel unsettled.  I don’t have an office to go to.  I am technically still on the job at horrorville, I will be officially at the hospital on Monday.  For now, I don’t really work anywhere.  It is an odd feeling.

It seemed a staycation would be a good idea to take a week to chill and shift gears after a terrible experience.  But I am not good at being at home for protracted periods, and I don’t have any money to do anything exciting.  Last night, my sister called me from her vacation home, where I could have been this week, and I had a pang of regret.  The beach would have been good.  But there is so much to get done here.

The budget, the envelopes, the wise shopping for groceries all take time.  I went to a Verizon store yesterday to chat about why my phone bill is so high.  By the time I left, I had a far better plan, for $40. a month less.  Getting organized and smart takes time and effort.  I am sure it will be worth it, but I don’t really know because frankly I have never done it before!

Enough out of me!  I sound ungrateful, I’m not really.  Just a bit unsettled.

This was in one of my readings this morning:

After all the worry and anger, there is that moment when Jesus stands before the tomb.  With tears streaming down his face, Jesus commands, “Lazarus, come out.”  And he does.  The image of Lazarus, soon to be loosed of his burial shroud, offers us the meaning of the story.  Jesus calls each of us by name.  He desires that we come out of the darkness of anger, despair, and sin.  He desires the feelings of shame and fear be torn from us like a burial shroud.  Lazarus, whose name means “God is my help,” is a symbol of all Jesus wants to do for us today.  — Monsignor Gregory E.S. Malovetz

 

This entry was posted in Rest, Thrift, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stuff to do on a Staycation

  1. Annette says:

    I so appreciated the reading at the bottom of your post this morning. Thank you for sharing that.

    I think that hat is adorable and its something my babies would have worn! lol During the winter, they wore hats made like pumpkins and hats with a floppy point with a little bell on the tip and lots of handmade knitted hats that I found at thrift shops or craft fairs .

    With that said, can’t you use a less expensive natural fiber yarn? What about felting? You can buy old wool sweaters at thrift stores and make items out of them…and felt them….no one ever knows its an old sweater from the thrift shop. Then you can open your very own Etsy store or do a craft fair.

    Ok ok ok…..sorry. But I have thought for years that your socks would be a good selling item and that you could have an Etsy store. I think I mentioned it before even! lol

    Ok, one last money making idea….your pies! My sister lost her job at the age of 64. Was laid off, etc etc. she is the worlds best baker, right under you I am sure, and she has now put together a cookie business. Gourmet cookies for friends and families and word of mouth, made in her kitchen which is not to code blah blah blah….but for now its good enough and who she is selling to understands. The goal is to eventually have it grow and she will rent a churches commercial kitchen.

    Ok, I am done running your life from afar. Have a wonderful staycation. Much much love and encouragement to you as you set off on this new way to live.

    • I have to love the way the yarn feels or I don’t love to knit. There are enough grammas out there knitting stuff with acrylic yarn,, the world doesn’t need another one 🙂 The thrift store sweater idea just sounds like a lot of work – you would have to make sure some how that the sweaters were 100% wool, of the shrinkable variety.

      Socks would be awesome, but again, the yarn generally costs about $30., and it takes maybe 20-30 hours of work.

      Pies are too much work also. There was a time when I could have done that work, but I don’t think it would be sustainable for me at this point… and now there is a dang dog in the house!

      I am working on something small, easy to make, and very cute right now. It might be marketable. We’ll see….. I’ll keep you posted….

  2. bambusue says:

    It might be nice to remind yourself to be your own friend. You already advocated for yourself yesterday–great! WHen you are deep into your next job you may wish you had sunk into the feeling of being at leisure and taken the time to sink further into self-acceptance.
    It’s not a matter of production, this vacation stuff. I’ve been retired for a few years, and I still berate myself for the times when I don’t get much done. But then I get back to the lilies of the field, and other wonderful concepts about belonging here and enjoying life.

    • I have been totally dysfunctional for the last 18 months, it feels GREAT to have the time to address things. I feel like I am laying some of the groundwork for the next chapter of my life, which is going to be so much less stressful and less work.

  3. Syd says:

    I like the little hat. Very cute idea with the knit dreads. It would look hilarious on me!
    I’m sure that you’ll figure out something fun to do while at home. I could spend a week just wandering around Denver which is something that you probably have done dozens of times. Annette is funny with all her suggestions! LOL–I will just say enjoy the time. In a few weeks, you might be saying “wow, I wish I had a few days off”.

Leave a Reply

