Talk, Talk, Talking

IMG_6424The photo is from a mountain hike on Sunday morning with one of my dear friends.  I have a cropped version of it somewhere so that you can see the wonderful red rock formations more closely, with that fabulous yucca in the foreground – but I haven’t got time to go looking through my photos right now.

Yesterday I spent the morning training someone on my old job.  I spent all afternoon training my “replacement” to do my current job.  In between, I spent an hour or so talking to the person who is retiring, vacating the job that I am soon to take.  When I got home last night, the phone started and didn’t stop until I went to bed at 10:00 (which is too late for me).  This kind of day is an introvert’s nightmare.  I had lost my voice by 10 p.m.!  I talked all day long! And I have to do it again today.   I am exhausted and in serious need of some down time.

Do you have any idea how difficult it is for me to tell this woman about the new job she has got without mentioning that it was the worst experience of my life?  She’s already asked me when she actually gets to analyze data, and I had to kind of shake my head and say hopefully “well, maybe you will be able to sometime!”  In other words, you have been hired as an analyst, but your job is mostly taking a number from one spread sheet to another, making a pretty little graph, pasting the little graph into a powerpoint, and writing a little tiny narrative about it, over and over and over again.  All on ridiculous deadlines.  Because it is SO IMPORTANT!  But it feels SO MENIAL!  She got that within maybe an hour of my training – trying to present the job in the best light.

I went and talked to my boss and told her I am trying to cast a positive glow on the job, but it is not really working.  She said she had been listening (of course she had) and she thought I was doing a great job.  My fear is that the new woman will quit before the week is over.

In any event, I walk out of there on Friday afternoon.  And I will be done.  And I am going to a place that I know inside and out.  Where people respect me and come to me for real answers – not to make powerpoint presentations.

God, please, if it be your will for me, may I never again even open powerpoint?   Thank you.

 

This entry was posted in Nature, Prayer, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Talk, Talk, Talking

  1. Annette says:

    If she quits it won’t be your concern, because you will be gone to a new job where they love and adore you. It will be your bosses (soon to be x) concern and she gets what she gets. Thats what I think at least.
    So glad to hear your daughter is being proactive. THAT takes maturity and courage. Bless her heart.

    • My daughter is astounding me through this. I used to say that if she could ever harness all of her energies into something productive, she could do anything. She’s not there yet, but she is on her way.

  2. kathy says:

    I read your blog every day and hope you never quit blogging. My daughter lives in the Denver area and also my son is there presently . He is an opiate addict who is homeless and trying to find a rehab and temporary housing, he is also not using at the moment and emotionally a mess. I want to ask you for your help ( advice?) but how do I contact you? I know you are very busy and stressed right now with the job changes, but if you could help me I would be very grateful.

  3. Syd says:

    I knew you would do your best to help the “new” person. Hope that there will be more chances for analysis!

Leave a Reply

