Thursday Morning

IMG_6377This Chicago Peace Rose greeted me as I walked out of my front door this morning.  I think I am in love.

The state is on fire.  So sad.  A lot of homes have been lost, no reports of lives lost yet.  As I walked to the bus downtown yesterday, it smelled like a campfire.  Not a normal smell for city streets.  When I got to my car, it was covered with ash, and ashes were still falling.  Air quality is out of control.  There is a deep, thick, haze – that is all smoke.  The weather forecast is nothing but hot and dry, with wind thrown in for good measure, the worst possible news for firefighters, and the people whose homes are in the path of the fires. Praying for all those involved.

IMG_6376Last night I was up until 10:30 baking these cupcakes.  They are so cute!  Today will be my last “big meeting” around which my current job revolves.  I thought it would be nice to bring a treat.  I hope they like these.  Red velvet mini cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.  The regular sized cupcakes are for my department.

I have to drive to work today to get those cupcakes there intact.  I will likely pay between $7 and $10 to park.  That just irritates me.  I was hoping not to pay for parking one more day.  But I can see that won’t work.  I love public transportation, but it doesn’t work so well when your schedule is variable and you need to bring things back and forth to work.

I am sooooooo boring.  But to me it is wonderful.  I am just living life and thanking God every day for it.

Praise the Lord!  raise the Lord from the heavens, praise him in the heights!  Praise him , all his angels, praise him, all his host! — Psalm 148

 

 

This entry was posted in Roses, Weather, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thursday Morning

  1. Syd says:

    Great photo of the rose, MC. Lots of great apps for the iPhone now. Camera + is still my fave. Those cupcakes look so good!

  2. That rose is so gorgeous!!!

  3. atomicmomma says:

    Beautiful cupcakes. They look scrumptious!

    Sorry about my cranky comments on HOA and google stuff. Did not mean that what you were doing on either was bad. I am just frustrated with the state of digital technology and privacy these days and our HOA sends out the nastiest letters over the simplest things – like not getting your trash can off the street 10 minutes after the trash truck picks up your stuff. We can’t even hang garden flags where we live.

    We are losing our human touch. As a homeschooling mom and part time teacher I really worry about the world our kids and your grandkids are entering.

    We had haircuts on Saturday. Our 8 year old sat in the corner with a book and read until it was his turn. Another mom came in and handed her 8 year old and 2 year old an ipad and they played games while she got her hair done. Those kids stared at that screen like zombies. They were not reading a book nor doing anything “educational” on that ipad – just staring. They were oblivious to things around them.

    Just watch those joints of yours okay? I don’t want you to have 20 years of pain and stiffness from marathons.
    Thanks for listening to me vent.

  4. quillain says:

    Those cupcakes look so yummy!

  5. Marcia says:

    I love the cupcakes in their different-ness–they offer the human contrast with the rose, if you take what I mean. Mary, I suppose that in your short spells of being “boring” your system is resting up for those times when my husband uses an old sports term on me that I’m being “hard to guard”!
    For myself and probably most of your readers, we embrace you and all that you bring to the table.
    Have a good Mary-day.

  6. Pammie says:

    Love boring. Love cupcakes. Love your roses. Wish I owned parking property in your city. LOL
    I’m so sorry about the fires….it’s so sad.

  7. Chenai says:

    Red velvet cupcakes are great. Yours look yummy. You might have inspired me to make my own batch this weekend.

Leave a Reply

