Hot Summer Morning

IMG_6363Flowers to flowers to flowers…. kitchen, dining room, and deck.  I have two peony bushes that are laden with heavy, huge flowers.  I try to relieve them of the flowers at every opportunity.  They smell divine.

IMG_6361And there I was again this morning, trying to get a photo of this beautiful rose bud.  It is a fragrant cloud.  When it blooms it is such a stunning color of red-orange, I haven’t found a way to photograph it. It just looks crazy.  Today I finally focused on the rose, but got all the ugly dirt and rocks as a background… you will note that I tried to blur them out.

It is super hot and I had made a pact with myself that I was not going to use my central air this summer.  My house was 86 degrees inside when I went to bed last night, it got up to 99 yesterday.  I am not sure it is worth saving a few bucks to suffer like this.  And then I remember that most of my life I have not had central air.  I never had a car with AC until 2000.  I don’t think we can live without those things anymore.  But I am trying…. I may very well turn it on before I leave the house this morning so that I can come home at the end of the day to an inhabitable living space.

I am registered for a half-marathon this weekend. I have a room reserved Estes Park.  I was really looking forward to it, but now I am considering not going.  I am so done with running.  But I did put in 75 miles worth of training in May, and it seems silly to waste that.  I would also like another medal to add to my collection.  The room, the t-shirt, and the medal – those are my only motivations.  Sad.

B-O-R-I-N-G – it may not be fun to read, but it sure is nice to write.

 

 

This entry was posted in Race, Roses, Training, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hot Summer Morning

  1. Syd says:

    I like your rose photo because the rose is in focus! I’m not sure how to not have the background in Camera + but with my Nikon digital SLR it is pretty easy to change the aperture and shutter speed so that I just get the flower. There is an app called Big Lens that works to blur backgrounds in photos on the iPhone. You may want to try it. Also, many local photo groups have workshops on using the iPhone as a camera and teach interesting techniques. Something to think about?

  2. Annette says:

    And I am glad that you choose to write each day. The rose looks beautiful….the blurry background made it look like a rainy day. To my eyes at least. lol Thank you for your prayers. Much much appreciated.

  3. quillain says:

    I hope your half marathon is smooth and pleasant.

  4. Kelly says:

    Wow. You are brave to try and live with out air conditioning. I am too much a creature of comfort and wouldn’t dare.

    • It was 88 degrees in here when I got home last night! I turned it on and will turn it on again before I leave the house today. There are limits to how cheap I can be.

  5. Tami says:

    I am also living without AC for now. It is doable. We cool the house in the early am with window fans then shut the house up tight before leaving. And a cool shower before bed helps at night. Good luck!
    I am struggling with the how-to-say-it but I so enjoy reading your blog. My prayer and meditation time includes checking in every day to see what is going on in your lovely world. So very grateful for you …

Leave a Reply

