Omega

IMG_6337I’m too tired to even take a good picture of the icon.  I finished it 2 hours ago.  After approximately 60 – 70 hours of work, over 8 days.  I am tired.

It is a different methodology than I have ever used before.  The highlights are odd colors, and the floats were too.  I kept waiting for the float that would make the Mother of God’s face pink, but it never came.  Only yellow.  In frustration this morning I called her “Our Lady of Jaundice.”  My classmates laughed, but probably I should have kept that little smart alec gem to myself.

I would prefer a lighter face, but I think I will grow to accept this.   This photo is shot with flash, which brightens it up.  I will take a photo in natural light tomorrow.

I feel absolutely calm.  This is a feeling that I have not had for so long I couldn’t even tell you how long ago it was.  My face even looks different.  I am exhausted, but the bags under my eyes are gone for the first time in over a year.

These teachers, this school, these peers, all miracles, all of them.  Our simple soup lunches – medicine for our souls.  The prayers we chanted every morning, I will miss those dearly.

I am too tired to make sense.  I just wanted to share the icon as soon as I could.  I hope that someone other than me will pray before it.  Not pray TO it, but pray before it.  We do not worship creation, we worship the Creator.  To do otherwise is idolatry.

Glory to Thee, O God, Glory to thee.

What a blessing it was to do this.

This entry was posted in Icons, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Omega

  1. Syd says:

    Perhaps the skin color is as it was supposed to be because Jesus was Israelite from the tribe of Judah, dark skinned people. The true personage would probably not be light skinned at all. I think that the process of what you did is so important. It makes me want to go to visit the monks for a weekend of silence, or to go to an ashram for meditation and yoga.

    • Syd, As I wrote that I knew I was not expressing myself well. This is darker, not because of skin color, but because the lack of strong highlights on the face and the use of yellow floats. Normally there are bright areas above and under the eyes, on the nose, and the chin.

  2. soberkentuckygirl says:

    Wonderful job. I’m so happy to hear that you are at a more peaceful place in your life.

  3. atomicmomma says:

    I think your icon is stunning. What a wonderful time it was to read your experiences this week.

  4. sue tegland says:

    May Peace continue into today and all your todays. That’s what that icon seems to radiate.
    Thank you so much for sharing it.

  5. daisyanon says:

    I think the icon is lovely Mary. Thank you for sharing it.

  6. quillain says:

    That is so beautiful and spiritual.

  7. Pammie says:

    I love this Mary!

Leave a Reply

