And Another

IMG_4767This is the last day of the icon class.  As much as I have enjoyed it, I am ready for it to be over.  I am tired in a very special way.  The bags under my eyes that developed some time last year have finally gone away.  I feel much much calmer.  But this is such intense work that I am worn out from it.  I am hopeful that tomorrow I can just sit around, maybe take a nap, maybe make a nice veggie pizza for lunch, I have just discovered the most amazing recipe for pizza crust made from sour dough.  It is crispy and delicious!

For now I have oatmeal raisin cookies in the oven to take to my class today.  In between running outside to move my sprinkler and visiting with my neighbor, I am eating breakfast and drinking a second cup of coffee while blogging.  We have watering restrictions this year and can only water twice a week.  For some reason, I decided that I didn’t need to turn on my sprinkling system this year since I can water so seldom.  Didn’t really think that one through.  I think I will turn it on some time this week.

IMG_6324

 

This is my icon as of the end of yesterday.  I am discouraged, but trying to have faith in the process.  I kept following the instructions and the personal advice of the two instructors and this is what I ended up with.  Please God, may it all come together today.

Tomorrow there will be a finished icon and a day of rest.  I am looking forward to that.  And today, I will have another day to soak in the lectures and cherish the individual attention I am getting.

Deo Gratia.

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Icons. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And Another

  1. Syd says:

    I know the feeling about wanting to rest after an intense class. I think that the icon looks good. But I am not an iconologist. What matters is that you are enjoying the work and the lectures and all that goes with doing this project.

  2. quillain says:

    Syd said everything I would have said. Also, the pizza dough recipe sounds delicious!

  3. Annette says:

    Mary, I think your icon is beautiful. Really, truly. I like Syd’s perspective…is the process fulfilling to you? That counts too.
    When I read this I was so happy to see that I am not the only one who has to run out to move their sprinkler….no fancy watering systems for us. But no….you have one, its just not on. LOL
    I have left the fancy gated community where everything is perfect, or at least looks that way….nary a stray grass blade hanging over the sidewalk! It feels good to be back in my forested mess of natural chaos…rocks and pines and birds flying all around eating out of my feeders.

    • My neighborhood is not so fancy, but I would dearly love to step down to a more humble place – that isn’t so much work.

      Unlike regular “art,” the icon is not about being fulfilling to me, but bringing a beautiful icon of the likeness of Jesus, the Holy Mother of God, or the Saints into the world. It is intended to be a window, and cause people to be inspired to pray. There is no allowance for regular old “creativity” in this process. I cannot invent my own image of God or decide he should look a different way. It is very scary for these reasons!

  4. Kelly says:

    I’m glad you are rested and worn out in such a good way, for a good reason. Intensity leaves me a different kind of tired, you’re right.

Leave a Reply

