A Glorious Summer Morning

 

IMG_6313

Chicago Peace

I could not get my camera to focus on the little rose bud.  It wanted to focus on the rocks and the distant leaves.  And when you are using an iPhone as your camera, I think there is little you can do about that.  Sometimes they make decisions we don’t agree with, but arguing with it is senseless (although I do occasionally enjoy a lively debate with Siri).  And though this photo is not beautiful, I wanted to share it because I am about to have several of these roses, the beautiful rose in my header, in my profile, et.  They are incredible, and soon, soon, soon, they will be blooming!

IMG_6309

 

And this is a detail of the Theotokos icon.  This is after the second highlight and before the first float, which we will do this morning.

It is a beautiful June morning.  My daughter wants to go grocery shopping with me right now before I need to get up to my class. So, I better skedaddle. (I said that once on an Amtrak train when I was seated at the dining car with a bunch of easterners, they laughed.  They thought I was being deliberately “western.”  Ha!)

I’m not going to tell you what kind of day to have.  I am looking forward to a beautiful day.  But just a few months ago, a beautiful day was so far out of my reach that it felt like a slap in the face to be told to have one… as if it is a choice!  It is easy to believe it is when you are having a string of them.  I can choose to enjoy a beautiful day, but I cannot produce one out of thin air.  That’s my opinion.

 

 

This entry was posted in Icons, Roses. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Glorious Summer Morning

  1. Annette says:

    If you have ever read the book The Glass Castle the dad would say “Its time to do the skedaddle,” when they had to leave town after he had gotten into some sort of trouble. I love that word! Not because of the dad….just because of the way it sounds. lol
    I liked your explanation of a “good day.”

    • That’s funny about the dad in the book, except I bet it wasn’t funny to the kids!

      My explanation of a good day is probably a bit jaded, but I felt so hurt by these things when I was so depressed that just living through a day was a major accomplishment.

  2. Syd says:

    MC, if you download the app Camera +, which is awesome, you will see that you can focus and even control exposure by pressing on the screen where it says autofocus and then press again and the exposure will come up. It works great as a super camera for when you don’t want to lug a large one.
    Have a great day. And look at your icon–how lovely is that?

  3. Kelly says:

    I really agree with your last paragraph.

    Also, glad Syd came along with the tip for your phone. I’m considering getting one, and it is nice to know these things!

  4. atomicmomma says:

    I always enjoy your posts but I have been anxiously awaiting your posts this week. I am fascinated with the icons. The photos are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

