Day 4 of Vacation

IMG_6302This was my icon at the end of yesterday’s work.  I wish I could write more about the process, but when I do, I have to use the words.  The words are so out of the jargon of normal life that if I use one, the blog comes up in searches.  I do not want that to happen.

The most amazing thing is happening this week.  I am not thinking about work.  I am putting my phone away.  I am not checking e-mail. My stomach is starting to straighten out and not hurt.  I don’t feel the steady of tension that I normally have.

The most wonderful thing about all of this?  I think this very well may be a permanent condition soon.  I know my new job will not be perfect, there will be people who aggravate me, there will be parts of my job I need to learn, etc.  But I don’t believe I will ever have another person like my current boss in my life.  I think I will not accept such a thing again.  But you know what else?  The experience has changed me in profound and wonderful ways.  And I am grateful for that.

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Icons, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 4 of Vacation

  1. Annette says:

    Oh its beautiful! Really. And gold leaf….of course! lol
    I can hear the relief in your posts.

  2. Kelly says:

    I have a question about your icon work. Do you draw your own icon?

    It looks wonderful- and it seems that the gold is sticking!

    I am happy to hear that you feel this sense of relief will be permanent. What a wonderful thing.

  3. Syd says:

    I think that it looks good and the gold is really nice. Have you seen the frescoes and other religious works at the National Gallery in DC? This reminds me very much of some of those.

    • I have not Syd. I just looked at their website and it seems they have a collection of icons. They are having a Byzantine exhibition beginning in October. Perhaps I should try to be there!

      I have not been to DC since the Johnson Administration (Lyndon, not Andrew)!

      • Syd says:

        Yes, I remember so many bas-relief and triptych paintings there. They were priceless and beautiful. Hope that you get to see them. Very inspiring and your work reminds me of them.

Leave a Reply

