Quick Note

IMG_6285

And now for a brief interlude from icon blogging….

These peonies came out of my garden yesterday morning.  I love peonies, their scent is rose-like but not so strong.

The weather this week is rainy and cool, which I think is just perfect.  I am secluded away in a church basement, while the world is getting watered.  Nice.

Off I go again today.  I’ve had three hours so far this morning that have largely been spent in prayer.  What a wonderful vacation from my normal routine.

 

This entry was posted in Prayer, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quick Note

  1. Annette says:

    I love peonies. What a wonderful vacation for you, is right! I hope the gold paint situation can get resolved. I was confused… was that your icon at the top? I thought it looked beautiful. A beautiful beginning. Your teachers was at the bottom? I did see the detail on the halo. It reminded me of Celtic art….truly beautiful.

    I am currently secluded away caring for a very sweet and very appreciative disabled woman in a beautiful home in a gated community, sleeping in a luxurious bed, making coffee on a 1000.00 coffee machine each morning. We sit and paint each day, we go for walks….we make delicious iced coffee drinks with ingredients I would never buy and have in my own home because my kids would drink and eat it all in a day! This is like a paid vacation…..and I feel a bit guilty.

    • The gold is actually 24K gold leaf. First you paint on a clay mix, let it dry, burnish it to a mirror like finish, and then exhale deeply onto it and quickly lay on the gold, section by section. It has great spiritual significance.

      You should not feel guilty! Enjoy! What could be so special about a coffee machine that it would cost $1,000?

  2. Syd says:

    I remember the peonies from Virginia and now great they smelled. They don’t do well in the humid South where I live now.

  3. Kelly says:

    I, too, remember peonies from my days in Minnesota. So funny that the climate dictates what will and will not grow.

    I’m glad you were able to spend so much time in prayer. That must feel good.

Leave a Reply

