Lunch at my Desk

IMG_6209Yesterday I walked over to Pho-natic to pick up my tofu noodle bowl to eat at my desk.  It was delicious!

I was able to finish the work I was afraid I was going to have to put in nights and the weekend to get done by Monday.  YAY!  I spent a week or so over the last month reorganizing all of my files and folders on my computer.  I hooked things up so that a graph updated in excel would update with a click in powerpoint.  They are pretty snappy, if I must say so myself.  I will be leaving a nicely organized  system for whoever takes my job.

As of this evening, I am on vacay!

Tomorrow morning I will head up to the church and begin work on my new icon.  I am supposed to be running miles, but guess what?  I am not going to.  I am going to do something that I love, and that I think has actual value.

Getting signed up for classes to get me up to speed for my new job.  HIPAA privacy rule, ICD-10 coding, DSM-V.  Cool stuff.  I am excited!!!  I am so happy to be rejoining the world of healthcare.  I missed it.

As I was pondering this yesterday, it occurred to me that it is 20 years since I began working in healthcare.  I think I started at Swedish Medical Center on June 1, 2003.   Wow.  Putting charts together.  Menial, but a great way to learn about medical records and healthcare in general.  I learned many many things from those charts.  Not that I was “reading charts” because that was not my job. I am so grateful I was willing to start in a new field in such a humble way.  I learned so much.  I could have instead tried to go back to my first career, in insurance.  That sounds horrible to me at this point.  Not that I have anything against insurance, mind you…. it is just not the kind of work I want to be doing now.

I am thrilled beyond belief that I will be walking out of my current job in less than a month, and stepping into what should be my last job before I retire.  A job I really think I am going to like.

Thank you Lord Jesus!

This entry was posted in History, Hope, Icons, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lunch at my Desk

  1. kberman says:

    I have had 8 careers–some of inter-related. I, too, have been in insurance and healthcare. When i read your post, I was reminded of Woody Allen about insurance. “Hell is spending an hour with an insurance salesperson.” I hated it but it pay well and I had my daughter to support. So was grateful for it then. I was 10 years sober and had moved to Florida with no family of friends here. Insurance was my safety net.

    I am so enjoying your new life to be. I knew you would be back there from the first you wrote about it. I loved healthcare–all aspects of it.

  2. Annette says:

    You sound so good. I am so happy for you. I am so happy that part of your last weeks in that ____ place are going to be spent being on vacation.

  3. quillain says:

    Yum, that noodle bowl looks delicious. Enjoy your vacation!

  4. Syd says:

    Vacation will be so good. Enjoy the day and that noodle bowl. Pho is delicious.

  5. Pammie says:

    A vacation, right about now is just what the doctor ordered I think.
    I know you will love the icon work!!!

  6. atomicmomma says:

    I love Thai food! That photo made my mouth water! Enjoy your time off!!!

  7. Kelly says:

    So happy that you are starting your vacation today! I hope you make a lot of progress on your icon (I would love to see pictures).

Leave a Reply

