I Love Saturday Mornings

IMG_4654

 

This time last year I had peonies everywhere.  This year the tree in my front yard doesn’t even have leaves on it yet!

I am going out with my running club this morning.  It is one of the last runs of the spring session.  I am considering not joining again for the summer – it is $200. and it is getting up at 4 a.m. or earlier every Saturday morning.  I’ve got half-marathons on June 16, August something, and the end of September.  I need to train….. I will decide in the next week or two.

For now I am going.  My daughter is sleeping in the room she uses when she is fighting with her boyfriend.  The weather is going to be fabulous.  This afternoon one of my dear friends is having a party to celebrate her 30th AA birthday.  Wow.  I remember going to her 2nd anniversary.  Amazing.

Gotta go.  Have a beautiful day if you can.  And if you can’t, I will not judge you for that.   We can only do the best we can with what we have got and some times having a good day is so far out of our reach, it feels like a slap in the face to be told to have a nice day!!! Or even better “Make it a great day!”  That all sounds cheerful unless you are in the midst of hell.  OK – but I am not today!

Thanks be to God.

This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love Saturday Mornings

  1. Pammie says:

    Yes, some times having a good day is so far out of our reach!
    I’m so happy that for you, it is not. Love the pic from yesterday…..I wish I knew how to buy clothes.
    BLOOM TREES BLOOM !!!

  2. Syd says:

    A good day here. I am tired after a busy day. Just had a great meal and am back in the hotel. A relaxing evening now and flying home tomorrow.

  3. Kelly says:

    There was a good blog post about depression that I ran across. Kind of humorous, kind of serious. Syd shared a link to it on his twitter…. let me find it …..
    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2013/05/depression-part-two.html
    There it is. You reminded me of it when you said that being told to have a nice day can be like a slap in the face if you are in the midst of it all. There is a part in the post about dead fish, and I could really relate to that part! I even had two of my sisters read it, just in hopes that they would understand a little bit better. Anyway, it’s kind of a long read….and it suddenly goes elsewhere at the end, but hopefully you see what I saw in it. Or not. Just a piece to share with someone who has experienced depression.

    Also, I am glad to hear that your daughter has you and a bed for when she needs you. There are many times I wish I had that at my mom’s.

Leave a Reply

