She has a new dress

My intended photo yesterday

My intended photo yesterday

I gave up buying clothes for Lent.  It was a very powerful penance as I realized how pathological my “need” for clothing is.  When the thought to buy new clothes popped into my head, it was never “I want a new pair of shoes, pants, dress, etc.”   No, it was always “I NEED….”  I realized how ridiculous that was.  My abstinence lasted until Monday night this week.

I looked at my bare legs at work on Monday and thought – it is time to put this in the past.  I can wear bare legs at home, or for casual occasions, but not for work.  Not anymore.  Sad, because I always thought my legs were my best feature.  But, over the last couple of years, my age has appeared on my legs.  That’s OK.  They were good for a long dang time.

I thought “I NEED a new maxi dress.”  So I bought one.  J. Jill Pima Stretch Cotton A-Line Dress.  Black.  Very basic.  And pretty.  And of course I had to purchase a pretty scarf.  With a pretty scarf and a little cardigan it looks really nice.  I think.  I wore it yesterday, and since I was at a different place, I am wearing it again today!  (Don’t tell anyone!)

This is the extent of what I have to write about this morning.  I went back through my blog over the last few days and I am dumbfounded at reading the daily account of a person who is near death from depression.  That may sound like hyperbole, but I can assure you, it is not.

Thank God it is today.  And I have a new dress to wear.

 

This entry was posted in Clothes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to She has a new dress

  1. Chenai says:

    Mary, girl, you know you gotta post a picture of your hot new dress!! Let’s see 🙂

    And yes, reading old blog posts can be very scary and also very enlightening. I am getting sober for the second time now, after a long relapse after my first try, and when I read the daily entries I wrote in my diary on the same/parallel days of my sobriety on my first attempt I am struck by

    1. How it seem some things have changed very little, and
    2. How it seems other things have changed so much.

    In any case, keeping a daily log of one’s emotions can be a very interesting thing, if only to look back in wonderment and read them as though they were the writings of a stranger you can psychoanalyze, or understand better in retrospect than you did when it was all happening.

    Again, I am so happy that you are happy again. I’m half way across the world and clapping my hands in glee for you.

  2. Syd says:

    Nice to treat your self to something that makes you happy. Hope that you have a good day in the new dress.

  3. Annette says:

    I want to see a picture too! Love J.Jill.

  4. Annette says:

    And your last line….about being near death from depression. :o( I do get that and it is not hyperbole. I am so glad you are back.

  5. Kelly says:

    I’m glad you treated yourself to a new dress. I bought new shorts for the summer and I’m glad I did, Sometimes we need to invest in our wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

