Ordinary Life

IMG_6148I was out running early this morning.  Oh how wonderful the great outdoors are in comparison to a treadmill in my basement.  I took the above photo as an afterthought…. I thought it wasn’t very pretty. I was focused on what was ahead of me.  Just like sometimes in life, we think we know what is good, but frequently it is some other thing we aren’t even paying attention to that is so much better.

Many announcements took place at work yesterday.  People losing their jobs, some being demoted, some outright gone.  Funny, the gone people are all older folks.  I’m sure that’s just a coincidence, right?  I was talking with a woman from HR, just chit-chatting.  She asked me if my move was “voluntary.”  I looked at her like she was nuts and told her how excited I am.  Later I realized that it might be a conclusion to draw – that I am somehow being busted back to being the MR director.  To me that speaks to how little people understand about professionals in health information.  Like just anyone could take that job!  As a demotion!

So, it’s just life, isn’t it?  Here is my reality at this moment:  I am at my dining room table.  The windows are open, the day is cloudy but warm.  There is a beautiful pot of lobelia to look at.  I am listening to Bach.  My little place in this world at this very moment is stellar.   So, I think I shall enjoy it and thank God for it.

 

This entry was posted in Nature, Training, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ordinary Life

  1. Syd says:

    Yes, I would say that what you are doing is voluntary–to move on to a position where you are valued and value what you do. Glad for the good weather there. You have had a rough winter.

  2. Chenai says:

    It is so wonderful to hear you sound like you are peaceful and happy today. I am a long time reader who only started commenting when you were down and felt like I should let you know someone else is out there praying for your recovery. Oh Mary, it’s so great to see you doing so well!

    • Thanks Chenai. I really appreciate your comments. I recently found out one of my friends is reading my blog every day because “it helps her” without thinking of picking up the phone and calling me!

  3. Kelly says:

    I am so happy to hear you describe this moment and place in your life as ‘stellar’. You certainly deserve it and I am happy that you have such good feelings at this point in time.

  4. Pammie says:

    Stellar is awesome!!!

  5. Annette says:

    Your world does sound beautiful right now. Other people’s perspectives are a funny thing sometimes. I know that my job is often viewed as any old untrained person could do it…..but it has incredible value to all of my little clients who I grow to love. Thats all that matters to me, I am making a difference in my little circle of effect. Or is that affect? I can never keep those straight. lol

Leave a Reply

