Off and Running

IMG_5124That looks like it is a photo of the sunset rather than sunrise, but I am soon to be heading off into the sunrise to meet my group for a run.  Before that, I am going to try to get 4 miles in on the treadmill so that I only have to do 6 outdoors.  I am meeting a friend to see “The Great Gatsby” at 11:00, so there is a limit to how much time I have.  Hence, I got up at 3:00 a.m.  Yikes.

Yesterday I got the word that I really, truly, officially am changing jobs in June/July.  I will finish up my current job in June and start the new one in July.

I met with the woman who is retiring and creating this wonderful opportunity for me.  It’s sort of  a full-circle kind of feeling.

On a hot August day in 1994, I walked into that office for the first time – for an interview.  I was 10 years sober, and had just been through a totally disfunctional 5 years where I had no work history to speak of.  It was an entry level position I was desperate to get.  I sat in that office on that day, wiping the sweat from my lip, hoping I didn’t look as desperate as I felt – and thought – I want to retire from this job if I should get it.

Six years later, just as I got my bachelor’s degree, I was able to move into that office as my own.  I was the director of the department.  That first day, I waited until every one in the department left for the day, unlocked the door, sat behind the desk and cried.  Tears of gratitude.

Yesterday as I sat in this office yet again, I felt that I was at home.  The retiring woman said to me “This is a good place for you at this stage in your life.”  I couldn’t agree more.

People I met in the hallways were all so excited that I am coming back.  And how I wish Dr. L. were still alive.  He always said I was the best medd reccords director ever and he missed me in that job.

I am going home.  Going home.  The grace of God is an amazing thing.  I never dreamed this would happen, but here it is.  My prayers have been answered.

 

This entry was posted in Dreams, History, Training, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Off and Running

  1. Hope says:

    So very happy for you, MC!

  2. Kelly says:

    It is truly a beautiful thing when our prayers are answered and we are able to recognize it!

  3. Nancy G says:

    So happy for you!

  4. Pammie says:

    It’s a good place for you, I just feel it.

  5. Syd says:

    Very good news! I am glad the job has been finalized. Only a few more weeks!

  6. Daisyanon says:

    I’m delighted to hear that everything is now official Mary. Congratulations.

  7. Pammie says:

    Happy Mothers Day my little cucumber cutie.

  8. Chenai says:

    Congratulations Mary, you are truly blessed. And happy mothers day!

  9. Ray says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

