First day on the rail

IMG_6091Today is the first day I shall ride the light rail to work and back.  I am a little nervous.  Where do I get on?  Where do I get off?  Will it run after 7 o’clock when I will be coming home?  I arranged with my daughter to be available if I should need a ride tonight.  I loved riding the bus so much, maybe I will like this better?

Yesterday afternoon, in my physical pain from the 8 miles of Saturday, I sat in my cool bedroom with the afternoon breeze, and read my old blog from this time last year.  It was when I was just realizing what a nightmare I had stepped into.  Was also realizing that I was facing a world class case of depression.  There were no obvious ways out of either.  It was terrifying.  Please God, I am on the other side of that now.  I still have 8 weeks more at my current job, but I have a whole different attitude now.

On Friday afternoon, I got an e-mail with another job opportunity (which I will probably write about later, but I am not ready to now).  I wrote back and told the man, who actually was the one who presented me with the “opportunity” I am now trying so hard to get out of, and told him I have another iron in the fire, but “thanks for thinking of me.”  I can’t make an official announcement until the person currently in my future and past job decides to announce she is retiring.  Her staff (soon to be mine) don’t even know.  So, although I have given notice, this is still pretty much on the DL.  She is supposed to announce it this week.  I cannot wait to tell the world what is happening!

It is a beautiful spring day, already 50 degrees. I will endeavor to enjoy it because snow is back in the forecast – in May!

Praise the Lord!  For it is good to sing praises to our God; for he is gracious, and a song of praise is seemly.  — Psalm 147:1

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First day on the rail

  1. Syd says:

    Light rail sounds like fun. I enjoy riding the metro in DC. A great way to travel IMO. 8 weeks will flash by. Just think that the light is at the end of the tunnel and it is not a train.

  2. Pammie says:

    The other side is a beautiful place sugar. Please draw a map for me, but one where I don’t really have to do all the work you did. 😉

Leave a Reply

