Knitting

IMG_6074I have been so upset about this baby blanket I am knitting for my niece and her newborn baby (whose middle name is Mary).  I was describing it as “hideous” until yesterday.  I was sending this picture to my sister and suddenly saw it differently.  I am going to put a little purple crocheted border on it, and I think it will be odd but cute.  I was going for “retro and cute.”  Since I spent $100. on the yarn, I am not ditching it.  I am committed.

I still don’t feel well, but I will get to work tomorrow.  I cannot stay home for another day.  My big activity for today was going to Mass and then going for a 4 mile walk that just about killed me.  I don’t know what the heck is going on with this old body, but it is not something I would care to continue!

It got up into the 60s this afternoon.  Tomorrow and Tuesday – snow again.  I am so done with snow.  Perhaps this will be it for the season.

This is an inane post, but I’ll go ahead and post it anyway.  I just wrote a whole post a minute ago, posted it, and then deleted it.  So, I will post this and then step away from the computer.

If we are faithless, he remains faithful, for he cannot deny himself.  — Timothy 2:13

 

This entry was posted in Junk-blogging, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Knitting

  1. Syd says:

    I like the blanket because it looks happy and was made with love. I am sure that the baby will like it and treasure it for many years.

  2. daisyanon says:

    I think the blanket is lovely, it will look beautiful with the crochet border. And what Syd said!

  3. Hope says:

    I have scrapped whole crochet projects for the same reason. I think the purple border will do the trick.
    I hope you feel better today.

    • I thought about ripping this one out a thousand times, but I am not going to. For one thing, cotton yarn doesn’t hold up under that much working. I will just move forward!

  4. Chenai says:

    Cool blanket. Knitting is a nice mindless activity. Well sort of mindless. I never finish anything I start, you must be really fast cause you’re always making something new. I love making gifts instead of buying them, as well as receiving them. Cards too, I always make them myself. It’s always more precious that way. Here’s hoping the rest of your weekend was alright.

    • hmmm, I don’t find it so mindless. I have had to count every single stitch in this blanket. And half the time, I have had to go back and count them again. And when I have knitted while watching television or talking with someone, I have had to undo whole rows that were not right.

      I usually “make” gifts, but recently have realized that people find the gifts “charming.” Or some other euphemism for “cheap” or “primitive.” This blanket for example, cost $100. for yarn and probably 100 hours – so far. I could have purchased a beautiful gift for that amount of money – and NO time. At this stage, I will only knit gifts for people who understand the financial investment, time, and love put into it. And that is a small number of people unfortunately.

      It sounds like you would understand the value of “home-made.”

  5. Pam says:

    reading thru your posts my sweet pumpkin seed.

  6. Mary LA says:

    Hoping I can post a comment here — I think those colours look good.

  7. atomicmomma says:

    I looooooove this blanket! Please post a picture once you have put the border on it so we can ll see.

Leave a Reply

