Saturday Morning

IMG_4479

This photo is about a year old.  I wish I had all those yummy veggies and fruit in the house today…. I can make that happen!

Yesterday afternoon I had to get out of this house and away from the television, so I went to a meeting I have never been to before.  For the last 20 years, I have dreamed of being retired and going to meetings whenever the heck I want to.  I sat in that meeting and thought – this is not the life for me.  There was an old man sleeping in the corner, the only sign of life was the hissing of his oxygen – in and out, in and out, in and out.  The man next to me had a hearing aid that must have been malfunctioning because it was making terrible sounds – I guess he could not hear them.  There were three elderly women at the end of the table who sounded like a nest of birds, cooing, giggling, and murmuring approval for the gems of wisdom dripping from the lips of the other people sharing.  The sad, and at the same time encouraging, thing was that most of the people there were newly sober – just out of rehab and full of the psychobabble they learned there.  I know the trick to loving meetings is attending all of the time and coming to love the members… but I am not ready for this group, not yet, not yet.

I was so looking forward to going out with my running group this morning and so disappointed when the alarm rang at 4:30 a.m., and I realized that it would not be wise for me to go – I simply do not feel good at all.  I went back to bed and slept for another three hours.

I am not good at staying at home so when I awoke, I bathed, did my hair & makeup, put on my tightest jeans, a pink top that shows the pink bra underneath, and just a teense of cleavage….. and wondered where the heck I was going.  I changed into my comfy yoga pants, and tried to dream of something I could manufacture to do today – without spending an inordinate amount of money.

I might go to Target to return the USB cord I purchased last week, whole foods for the nori I thought I bought last week, maybe come home and make some rice balls… and maybe by the time I am done with that, I will get ready for Mass and go.

And then again, I might sit here and continue to watch country music videos.  I do not want to watch one more second of news for quite a while.  So I will watch all these young things sing country music and ruefully remember Merle Haggard, George Jones, Tammy Wynette, Emmylou Harris, and even George Strait and Alan Jackson.

I will could up with e-mail – which would take me all day if I really did it justice.

Maybe I’m not getting out of here all day … just going back to bed.

I don’t like being home when I don’t feel good enough to do anything.  But it does make me appreciate my regular busy, busy life.

Thank you Lord for my good health and my busy life.

This entry was posted in Food, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Morning

  1. Syd says:

    Having a lazy day on the boat. Lots of things I could be doing but no motivation to do much. It has been chilly here today.

Leave a Reply

