Glued to the News

IMG_3128

One of my favorite photos from my trip to Boston

Today, for the first time in 15 months, I am taking a day of sick leave.  I had intended to stay in bed and watch movies on my computer on netflix.

I woke at 4 a.m., and saw notifications on my phone of all the activity in Boston over night.  I did my prayer and medication and immediately turned on the television….since then I have been glued to  it, my computer, and my phone.  A blow by blow accounting of how they are finding this 19 year old man.  I hope to God there is no more violence and that they can take him alive so that we can learn what happened.

We’ve never seen anything like this.  I am dumbfounded.  Truly.

I am also sick.  So I believe I really am going to go to bed and watch “Hunger Games.”   I have a heated mattress pad, which is now on, I will curl up in bed, shut off my phone, and get some peace.

I hope that all of you, no matter where you are, can also find some peace in your hearts.  This has been such a difficult week.  I talked with one of my running club friends last night and found that many of us have been suffering from stomach aches and feeling just sick.  Two of my pals have also taken some sick leave this week.  We will get together tomorrow and that will be good for all of us.

This entry was posted in Health, Rest. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Glued to the News

  1. healthiestbeauty says:

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

  2. Syd says:

    I hope that all of this will end soon, including your feeling sick. It has been a difficult week for so many.

  3. Jeanne says:

    God, give me grace to accept with serenity
    the things that cannot be changed,
    Courage to change the things
    which should be changed,
    and the Wisdom to distinguish
    the one from the other.
    Living one day at a time,
    Enjoying one moment at a time,
    Accepting hardship as a pathway to peace,
    Taking, as Jesus did,
    This sinful world as it is,
    Not as I would have it,
    Trusting that You will make all things right,
    If I surrender to Your will,
    So that I may be reasonably happy in this life,
    And supremely happy with You forever in the next.
    Amen.

    Reinhold Niebuhr, 1951
    Take it easy friend. God loves you and so do I.
    J

Leave a Reply

