2 weeks as a vegan was enough.

IMG_6070I tried the vegan life for 2 weeks.  In that time, I did not feel better.  In fact, I had a perpetual stomach ache.  For the first week, the food seemed delicious and wonderful.  In the second week, I was mourning the loss of cheese and butter.  Yesterday I ate vegan fare at my favorite Thai restaurant.  I couldn’t stop thinking about the delicious tang of eggy pad thai.  Later I was sitting in a meeting praying that no one else could hear the ridiculous noises my guts were making.  I came home and sort of said “screw this, I am eating dairy.”  I ordered a pizza!  I ordered a bottle of root beer with it!  I shoveled the walk and waited for the delivery man to come.  I set the table, and when the pizza arrived, I had to take a picture before I bit into it.  It was heavenly.

The Thai lunch was sort of an interview.  I am not even telling you all what this is, because I have been through so many changes, without actually changing anything,  as of late, I am embarrassed.  I could actually have news within a week.  But I have thought that before!  Here’s what is different about this one…. I had already made up my mind that I was retiring.  Then I got a phone call about a job – they want me for it.  I think it is feasible for me to do this job for a couple of years without killing myself.  But my first reaction was “NO!  I want to retire!”  Someone who was near at the time told me that he believed the phone call was the Holy Spirit talking to me.  Wow.  That stopped me in my tracks.

Now I shall get ready and step out (into the snowy 14 degree morning) in faith that I can survive another day of my current life.  I wonder if I will ever look back at this and say “oh, it really wasn’t THAT bad!”  I guess that is a good survival skill, because you don’t want to dwell too much on the times that were so difficult.  But we shall see – and soon, I hope.

Note:  I haven’t been posting any Biblical verses this week because every one I have chosen has seemed a bit smug, a bit too preachy, whatever – in light of the things going on in this country this week.  For instance, today I wanted to post a line or two from the 23rd Psalm, but then I thought – “I’M walking through valley of the shadow of death?”  Not really.  There are people in Boston who have lost their ability to even walk…. I shan’t complain about walking.  And shouldn’t be complaining about anything else either.

 

This entry was posted in Food, Weather, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2 weeks as a vegan was enough.

  1. Syd says:

    Follow your gut on the retirement thing or maybe having the head and heart be in alignment. I don’t know what you will decide but am sure that you will make the best decision for you.

  2. Annette says:

    It’s ok to have plans change. Life is unpredictable. Throw God and His timing into the mix and we never know what is going to happen next! Lol that’s what living in faith is, isn’t it?
    I’m glad your not going to be a vegan… It just feels so extreme! The pizza looks delicious btw! 😄

    • I feel like my whole life perspective has been changing on a weekly basis for a while. It makes a girl tired!

      I can be a vegetarian without suffering. Vegan is something else again. Too much for me. And the last straw? I gained weight!!!!

  3. I have give up enough. I refuse to give up my beloved dairy. And the dairy-free argument from people is completely wasted on me (not that you’re trying to initiate one.)

    I’m excited to read more of your life plan changes. Retirement….nice 🙂

  4. atomicmomma says:

    I asked a holistic doctor about the vegan diet and he was not a big fan. He was a huge fan of a vegetarian diet. He said the vegan diet ended up with alot of processed foods that people ate for “vegan” cheese and “vegan” meats and did not follow a whole foods healthy diet.

Leave a Reply

