Some days in April

IMG_5255

 

I’m stunned by the bombings at the Boston Marathon yesterday.  One of my co-workers came and told me and I started waving my hands in the air and saying “NO!”  Thanks to social media, I was able to find out relatively quickly that everyone I knew who was running was OK.  Then I was faced with the fact that other people’s friends are not OK.  This has hit me hard.

On Easter Sunday, I recalled the attacks that had occurred in April, and thought – wow, we haven’t had any of these for a long time.

On April 19, 1993, the government killed at least 70 people in Waco, Texas.  Because they had weapons and a nutty religion.  Hmmmm, rights this country was founded on…. but I digress.  I was so upset by that, beyond upset, I was out of my mind about it.  I went to an AA meeting and one of my dear friends came up to me after the meeting and told me he had three words to say to me.  “Get a job.”  I wasn’t working at the time.  I was greatly insulted by his rude suggestion, but the next day I was out looking for a job.

I got a temporary job working in the medical records department of a large hospital, and so began my career in healthcare.  That has lasted for 20 years and served me well over the years.

On April 20, 1999, at noon, I was taking a short break from work.  I looked at the news on my computer and saw that a school shooting was taking place just down the road.  I had an employee with two kids at that school.  I had to go to her and let her know.  I never saw anyone move so fast in my life.  She was out of there.  Thankfully, her kids were OK.  But again, then you are faced with the fact that other people’s kids did not come home that night, or ever.

I’m going to stop now.  This is far too morbid.

One more thing:  I hope to God they don’t try to enforce “security” at marathons.  As a marathoner, I cannot imagine adding that stress to the marathon.  My next half-marathon will be running through the mountains near Estes Park, CO.  I certainly hope there will not be spooky cops hanging out behind the trees.

Sorry for my morbidity today.

This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some days in April

  1. Chenai says:

    Dear Mary,

    I too am shocked by the attacks. It’s truly heartbreaking. It’s interesting that you, as a marathon runner, hope they don’t enforce security at marathons. I was absolutely expecting you to say you hope they ramp up security for your next marathon so you feel okay to run. But anyway, my thoughts are also going out to those victims in Boston.

    When I saw the title of your blog post I thought you were going to make a reference to that movie “Sometimes in April”. It is about the Rwandan genocide that lasted 100 days and began in April 1994. It’s also a morbid and possibly depressing film that I’m not sure I would not recommend to you hon’, as it is only a reminder of how senseless violence usually is, and how those who suffer the most are normally the innocent ones.

    Chenai

    • Chenai, If I had any confidence that anything that is done in the name of “security” actually improved safety, I might be in favor of it. But judging from historical reactions to terrorism, I think we would have searches of racers for pressure cookers. No pressure cookers allowed! Or black back packs, make sure yours is yellow.

      I would rather live in danger than in fear.

  2. Syd says:

    I hope that this act won’t cause a lot of added security too. We seem to go crazy with all kinds of measures after these tragedies occur. And yet, we still remain powerless to some degree over dangerous zealots and psychotics.

    • I think we are always powerless over dangerous zealots. I won’t include psychotics, because the vast majority of them are not dangerous to anyone other than themselves. I think that in a majority of cases, our next big threat is some kid sitting in his basement playing video games, but how do you identify which kid? The sad thing is, it seems that the people who have done the worst things are young men who just needed someone to befriend them and love them. —- Opinions of mine.

  3. Annette says:

    Mary, I get the need to go over all of these unthinkable tragedies in our heads. I guess its our way of processing what is unfathomable to us. Its all so sad….BUT, there are also so many stories of heroes, wonderful generous and brave people in the face of horror. Beautiful examples of the human spirit.

  4. atomicmomma says:

    Very thoughtful post. I worked at a newspaper at the time of the shootings in 1999. Was giving a tour to high school students at the time and we kept passing television monitors as the story brok on CNN. It went from bad to worse.

  5. I knew a man, and loved him dearly, who was a big shot in local law enforcement at the time of Columbine. He didn’t talk about it much, but when he did, I learned that he felt that event ruined his life. He was not the only one either. He was dead 9 years later. I still cry when I think of him.

Leave a Reply

