How the decision was made

Last year's tulips

Last year’s tulips

This year I may never have tulips.  I had one little brave soul pop up only to get smashed and frozen by ice and snow.  Poor little thing.  We are in a drought, so I can forego my early flowers (but not roses) if it means we will have less wild fires this summer.

I want to write down my retirement decision.  To me, it is momentous.  To you, maybe not so much?

My friend called on Tuesday afternoon while I was working at home.  We talked and I was complaining about my job again.  I try not to do that with her because she does not abide complainers!  Anyway, I told her something that changed my whole perspective.  Here’s what it was.

I have been blessed with good health.  I have wonderful children and grandchildren.  I have a beautiful home.  God has given me a good life.  How do I thank Him for that?  I work, work, work, work… and when I am not working, I am stressed about work.  I am worried all the time about work and bills.  I am unhappy all of the time.  I have lost my mind, am losing my health, and now I am losing my HAIR!  This is not a life!  This is ME driving ME crazy.  I might as well be spitting into the face of God!  My job is not my higher power, but you would never know it from my behavior.

And in the next sentence, I said “I am retiring.”  I expected my friend, who is retired, to say  – oh no, you can’t do that.  You are in debt.  You won’t make a big enough percentage of your salary.  This is the rest of your life you are talking about!  But she did not say any of those things.  She asked me a few questions, and helped me to develop a strategic plan.  There will be a lot of steps in the process.  I can do this.

When I shared this news with others, my sponsor and my sister, they both have said “thank God!”  My sister thinks I will start another career and make a million dollars!  ha!  My sponsor says I am doing the right thing and it will be OK.

I am stepping out in faith.  I am not saying that God will mail me a check every month.  But I know that I will be OK, regardless of what happens because God is beside me.

Placing my faith into a faithful God is such a better idea than putting my faith into a faithless employer.

Phew!

This is what the Lord commanded: “Gather of it, every man of you, as much as he can eat; you shall take an omer apiece, according to the number of the persons whom each of you has in his tent.” And the sons of Israel did so; they gathered, some more, some less. But when they measured it with an omer, he that gathered much had nothing over, and he that gathered little had no lack; each gathered  according to what he could eat.  And Moses said to them, “Let no man leave any of it till the morning.”  But they did not listen to Moses; some left part of it till the morning, and it bred worms and became foul… — Exodus 16:16-20

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Friends, Hope, Surrender, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How the decision was made

  1. Daisyanon says:

    I love being retired. I am so happy that you have made this decision. I hated my job as well, it was all going pear shaped and I had only a hazy idea of how much money I would have. It has all worked out brilliantly. Thanks be to God.

  2. sherylswool says:

    I’m so excited about your decision to retire – and I thank you for sharing the experience with all of us.

  3. Hope says:

    What I sense in your post is relief. I’m happy for you and your faith encourages my own.

  4. Syd says:

    Retirement has been a relief for me. My stress is reduced on the work front. Having to handle all the other stressful stuff and still be working would be awful.

  5. Kat Stephens says:

    You have peace, it must be God’s will.
    Much love,
    Kat

  6. Patty says:

    SO happy for you Mary.
    Patty

  7. bambusue says:

    Well done, good and faithful servant!

  8. Chenai says:

    Congratulations Mary! I have a feeling that this is a big turning point in your life and you are going to be so much happier!!

Leave a Reply

