Listen, do you want to know a secret?

Do you remember that Beatles song?  It might be one of my favorites.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVVvpW_5vgw

I have forgotten how to post a youtube, and I do not have time to figure it out now.  But please go listen to that beautiful song of my youth, when I believed in forever love and men who would whisper undying love in your very own ear.

Here’s my secret:

On Tuesday I made my decision to retire in December.

I will still need to work after I retire, but perhaps I could find something to do that doesn’t kill my soul and make me lose my hair.  And if I can’t find a job that I can stand, I will learn to live poor.

I would rather be poor in material things and have my health and my happiness than ever live like this again.

My daughter (the responsible, “good” one) was ecstatic when she heard this.  She said that if I should have to live on my retirement income I would be OK.  She said “I hope you don’t take offense at this, but you are good at being poor.”  True dat.  It’s been a long time, but I can learn again.

Such relief!

This entry was posted in Faith, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Listen, do you want to know a secret?

  1. Syd says:

    I am really happy for you. It sounds like a great idea. You rock, MC!

  2. Lisa says:

    That’s wonderful news! Having an end in sight will hopefully make the next few months more bearable for you.

  3. susan says:

    One thing I woud like to do before I retire is have all my credit cards paid off, and I am working toward that goal. For me it is a win win situation when those etra bills are gone, paid off through better choices and a healthier attitude about money. Congrats on your plans!

  4. atomicmomma says:

    I’ve been hoping to read this post for a long time now. You are making a wise and correct decision. So happy for you and I know parts of it will be tought but you can do it.

    • You know what I am most shocked by? Everyone seems to agree that this is a good decision. I thought people would say – ARE YOU NUTS! YOU CANNOT AFFORD TO DO THIS!!! I think at this point I cannot afford not to!

  5. Nancy G says:

    So glad you’ve reached this decision to take care of yourself in such a wonderful way! You will never be alone because of your faith. Remember the birds of the trees; how He cares for them.

Leave a Reply

