Ten Degrees and Snowy

IMG_6033On a beautiful Sunday afternoon, my neighbor and I removed the “girdling roots” from the large ash tree in my front yard.  I am now afraid that Syd will say “You have now killed your tree!!!”  I hope not.  If you prune branches off the top of the tree, why can’t you prune the roots?  I probably really don’t want to know the answer to this unless you are telling me that we did the right thing.

On my way into a brutally cold morning.  Standing waiting for the bus should be an experience.  My work day should be another.  I have just decided that it really doesn’t matter.  They can kill me, but they can’t eat me.

I have come to believe that God has better plans for me – but I have to let go of my own plans.  Yep.  It took 15 months of agonizing misery to get to this point.  But I am there.

Thank you Lord Jesus.

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Gratitude, Hope, Spring, Weather, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ten Degrees and Snowy

  1. Syd says:

    It looks like you may have helped your tree. See http://www.rainbowtreecare.com/tree-knowledge/health-maintenance/girdling-roots/
    I took your suggestion and made a call to the case manager at the hospital. Thank you for making the comment. It helped me to take action.

  2. Chenai says:

    Hey Mary,

    Your blog post about the tree reminded me of a funny story in my own life.

    When I was about 14 or 13 years old we all all had to take Agriculture class. I really liked that we learned in our textbooks all these tools like grafting, or using a branch to grow a new tree instead of a seed. Of course, after my first term of taking the class I went home for the holidays, super excited about all the new techniques I had learned and eager to apply them. I cut the branches off all kinds of trees and planted them in the hopes that they would grow to become new bushes, and the garden would be transformed into a lush green and purple jungle. And so I learned that everything I read in books is not necessarily true. I was persistent in watering them and tending to them but I didn’t really know what I was doing wrong because nothing grew! Now I know I was using the wrong bush etc. But still, I am always scared of doing anything to a plant or even a flower in a pot because I believe myself to have the opposite of green fingers (would those be red fingers? I don’t know). I think this summer I am going to try my hand at gardening for the first time since that tragedy. I’ll start small with an herb garden or something. And not be so scared of making mistakes. Like you, who just lopped the roots off of the entire tree with your neighbor. Ha.

    Have a wonderful day.

    • Isn’t it amazing how damaging high school classes can be? I am glad you are getting your courage to plant an herb or two. I really think each plant helps the world be a little bit better.

  3. atomicmomma says:

    Whew!!!! Read Syd’s comment so I’m glad your tree is safe. I saw the Denver footage in the news and thought of you. I can’t imagine waiting in that kind of cold and snow for a bus!

Leave a Reply

